The Awakening of Miss Prim (Paperback)
  • The Awakening of Miss Prim (Paperback)
zoom

The Awakening of Miss Prim (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 06/01/2015
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A beautifully written novel. Its characters are brought to life so eloquently, and the blossoming of Miss Prim is so complete: she learns the value in life and love that has been lost in our modern-day hustle. An exquisite book and a joy to read' Deborah Rodriguez, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul

In this #1 international bestseller, a young woman leaves everything behind to work as a librarian in a remote French village: a delightful tale of love, literature, philosophy and the search for happiness.

Prudencia Prim is a young woman of intelligence and achievement, with a deep knowledge of literature and several letters after her name. But when she accepts the post of private librarian in the village of San Ireneo de Arnois, she is unprepared for what she encounters there. Her employer, a book-loving intellectual, is dashing yet contrarian, always ready with a critique of her cherished Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott. The neighbours, too, are capable of charm and eccentricity in equal measure, determined as they are to preserve their singular little community from the modern world outside.

Prudencia hoped for friendship in San Ireneo but she didn't suspect that she might find love - nor that the course of her new life would run quite so rocky, would offer challenge and heartache as well as joy, discovery and fireside debate. The Awakening of Miss Prim is a distinctive and delightfully entertaining tale of literature, philosophy and the search for happiness.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349139517
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 244 g
Dimensions: 197 x 128 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A heart-warming and sweet story of small-town life and self-discovery * Vanessa Greene, author of The Vintage Teacup Club *
An exquisitely delicate, distinctive and inspiring story that will leave your heart undone, open to the beauty of the little things in life * Elle Spain *
Readers who loved Joanne Harris's Chocolat, Jessica Brockmole's Letters from Skye or Gabrielle Zevin's The Collected Works of AJ Fikry will be charmed by the blossoming of Miss Prim. Already a bestseller in Europe, this charming and intelligent debut novel is certain to be a hit with book groups. Highly recommended * US Library Journal *
A book that gives you a warm glow and lets you escape . . . a thought-provoking read full of beauty and the simplicity of everyday life * Lady *
A beautifully written novel. Its characters are brought to life so eloquently, and the blossoming of Miss Prim is so complete: she learns the value in life and love that has been lost in our modern-day hustle. An exquisite book and a joy to read -- Deborah Rodriguez, top-ten bestselling author of The Coffee Shop of Kabul
A heartwarming, sweet story of small-town life and self-discovery -- Vanessa Greene, author of The Vintage Teacup Club
An exquisitely delicate, distinctive and inspiring story that will leave your heart undone, open to the beauty of the little things in life * Elle magazine Spain *
Readers who loved Joanne Harris's Chocolat will be charmed by the blossoming of Miss Prim. Already a bestseller in Europe, this charming and intelligent debut novel is certain to be a hit with book groups. Highly recommended * Library Journal *

You may also be interested in...

Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ready Player Two
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Troy
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Starve Acre
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Carefully crafted and exceptionally elegant”

Every once in a while you read a book that is written so beautifully that not only do you get lost in the story, but you do so in the carefully crafted words as well. The Awakening of Miss Prim is one such a novel. As... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“An unusual novel”

The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera (translated into English by Sonia Soto) is an unusual novel which is impossible to categorize into any particular genre.

Miss Prudencia Prim is a young,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Full of old-fashioned charm & wit!”

This is a charming, simple tale that is very easy to read. It has echoes of literary classics - you can imagine a modern-day Jane Austen being the author behind it.
It speaks of the simple joys in life, taking time to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.