The Asylum (Paperback)
  • The Asylum (Paperback)
zoom

The Asylum (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Perfect for fans of The Doll Factory and The Glass House, this is the intoxicating story of one woman's fight for freedom against a system built to silence her.

WELCOME TO ANGELTON LUNATIC ASYLUM. ONCE YOU'RE IN, IT'S MURDER GETTING OUT.

It is 1906 and Maud Lovell has been at Angelton for five years. She is not sure how she came to be there and knows nothing beyond its four walls. Hysterical, distressed and untrustworthy, she is badly unstable and prone to violence. Or so she has been told.

When a new doctor arrives, keen to experiment with the evolutionary practice of medical hypnosis, Maud's unknown history makes her the perfect case study. But as Doctor Dimmond delves deeper into the past, it becomes clear that confinement and high doses are there to keep her silent.

When Maud finally remembers what has been done to her, and by whom, her mind turns to her past - and to revenge . . .
___________

PRAISE FOR THE ASYLUM:

'Haunting and mesmerising' - Essie Fox, author of The Last Days of Leda Grey

'Vivid, disturbing and visceral, The Asylum is this year's must-read!' - Ruby Speechley, author of A Mother Like You

'This twisty rollercoaster story made me desperate for Maud's salvation and yearn for her revenge. Utterly compelling' - Kerry Fisher, author of The Woman I Was Before

'Evocative, menacing and darkly sinister. A brilliantly executed gothic thriller that will leave you breathless' - Jane Isaac, international bestselling crime fiction author

'A historic novel that seethes with claustrophobia, trauma and thoughts of revenge. What a sophisticated and gripping tale' - Fiona Mitchell, author of The Swap

Publisher: Welbeck Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781787395152
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Haunting and mesmerising' -- Essie Fox, author of The Last Days of Leda Grey
'Vivid, disturbing and visceral, The Asylum is this year's must-read!' -- Ruby Speechley, author of A Mother Like You
'This twisty rollercoaster story made me desperate for Maud's salvation and yearn for her revenge. Utterly compelling' -- Kerry Fisher, author of The Woman I Was Before
'Evocative, menacing and darkly sinister. A brilliantly executed gothic thriller that will leave you breathless' -- Jane Isaac, international bestselling crime fiction author
'A historic novel that seethes with claustrophobia, trauma and thoughts of revenge. What a sophisticated and gripping tale' -- Fiona Mitchell, author of The Swap

You may also be interested in...

Dear Child
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guardians
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Camino Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“Welcome....”

Once you’re in,it’s murder getting out...
1906.
Maud Lovell has been a resident of Angelton Lunatic Asylum for the past five years.Yet she is rather unsure of how she ended up in such a place,and knows nothing beyond... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Addictive, suspenseful read”

So far, the best book I have read this year!

The Asylum begins with Mary (real name Maud) who seems fascinated with the marshland surrounding her abode. Her abode is actually an Asylum - she has no recollection of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“The baddies certainly get their just desserts.”

"The Asylum" by Karen Coles flits between hypnosis flashbacks and the current timeline in the Asylum. Like many books set in the late 1800s, the women do not deserve to be there. Poor Maud (or Mary as Dr... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.