The Asylum (Paperback)
  • The Asylum (Paperback)
zoom

The Asylum (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Glass House, this is the intoxicating story of one woman's fight for freedom in Victorian England.

'Outstanding gothic psychological thriller!'
'Fantastic character and fantastic story. Buy this book'
'Beautifully written and incredibly addictive'
'I can't stop thinking about it'
___________

WHO IS MAUD LOVELL AND WHERE HAS SHE COME FROM?

Maud has been at Angelton Lunatic Asylum for 5 years.

She has no memory of her past or how she came to be here.

They say she is violent and unstable, hysterical and untrustworthy.

But when she's hypnotised, the memories come flooding back. And now it's time for revenge.

Welcome to Angelton Lunatic Asylum. Once you're in, it's murder getting out . . .
___________

PRAISE FOR THE ASYLUM:

'Haunting and mesmerising' - Essie Fox, author of The Last Days of Leda Grey

'Vivid, disturbing and visceral, The Asylum is this year's must-read!' - Ruby Speechley, author of A Mother Like You

'This twisty rollercoaster story made me desperate for Maud's salvation and yearn for her revenge. Utterly compelling' - Kerry Fisher, author of The Woman I Was Before

'Evocative, menacing and darkly sinister. A brilliantly executed gothic thriller that will leave you breathless' - Jane Isaac, international bestselling crime fiction author

'A historic novel that seethes with claustrophobia, trauma and thoughts of revenge. What a sophisticated and gripping tale' - Fiona Mitchell, author of The Swap

Publisher: Welbeck Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781787395152
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Haunting and mesmerising' -- Essie Fox, author of The Last Days of Leda Grey
'Vivid, disturbing and visceral, The Asylum is this year's must-read!' -- Ruby Speechley, author of A Mother Like You
'This twisty rollercoaster story made me desperate for Maud's salvation and yearn for her revenge. Utterly compelling' -- Kerry Fisher, author of The Woman I Was Before
'Evocative, menacing and darkly sinister. A brilliantly executed gothic thriller that will leave you breathless' -- Jane Isaac, international bestselling crime fiction author
'A historic novel that seethes with claustrophobia, trauma and thoughts of revenge. What a sophisticated and gripping tale' -- Fiona Mitchell, author of The Swap

You may also be interested in...

The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Nothing Left Unsaid
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Passenger
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Stella Maris
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The New Kingdom
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bad Actors
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
Sixteen Horses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Brilliant”

Perfect description of the atmosphere setting and an impossible to put down storyline.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Dan at Cribbs Causeway, Bristol.

“Welcome....”

Once you’re in,it’s murder getting out...
1906.
Maud Lovell has been a resident of Angelton Lunatic Asylum for the past five years.Yet she is rather unsure of how she ended up in such a place,and knows nothing beyond... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Gripping”

It is 1906 Maud Lovell has been in Angelton Lunatic Asylum for the past five years. She does not know the reason she has been there for all that time. All she remembers is a bell tolling and a ticking clock. Her... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.