The Assistant (Paperback)
  • The Assistant (Paperback)
zoom

The Assistant (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 276 Pages / Published: 20/05/2021
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Kjell Ola Dahl serves up an absorbing, perfectly plotted interwar mystery revolving around a case of marital infidelity, smugglers and dark deals dating back to prohibition-era Norway.

A seemingly straightforward investigation into marital infidelity leads a PI and his ex-con assistant on a murderous trail, in a sophisticated, riveting, cunningly plotted historical thriller set in interwar and prohibition-era Norway.

Oslo, 1938. War is in the air and Europe is in turmoil. Hitler's Germany has occupied Austria and is threatening Czechoslovakia; there's a civil war in Spain and Mussolini reigns in Italy. When a woman turns up at the office of police-turned-private investigator Ludvig Paaske, he and his assistant - his one-time nemesis and former drug-smuggler Jack Rivers - begin a seemingly straightforward investigation into marital infidelity. But all is not what it seems, and when Jack is accused of murder, the trail leads back to the 1920s, to prohibition-era Norway, to the smugglers, sex workers and hoodlums of his criminal past ... and an extraordinary secret.

Both a fascinating portrait of Oslo's interwar years, with Nazis operating secretly on Norwegian soil and militant socialists readying workers for war, The Assistant is also a stunningly sophisticated, tension-packed thriller - the darkest of hard-boiled Nordic Noir - from one of Norway's most acclaimed crime writers. For fans of Sebastian Faulks, Lars Mytting, Mick Herron and Robert Harris.

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781913193652
Number of pages: 276
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'An expertly crafted unravelling of mixed loyalties, love, lust, lies and trust, set against the background of a world increasingly on the edge of all-out war' - John Harvey

'Dark, gritty and compulsive ... feels like a classic of the genre' - William Ryan

'A stylish standalone thriller ... Dahl ratchets up the tension from the first pages and never lets go' - Sunday Times

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Narrow Door
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Murder Before Evensong
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Heights
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Falling
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
With A Mind to Kill
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Partisan
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

“Beautiful, character driver, historical thriller. Loved it.”

Oh I do love this book. Kjell Ola Dahl is a master at bringing history to life and with The Assistant takes us into the world of prohibition era Norway and the lives of smuggler Jack Rivers and the man whose mission... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Blue Book Balloon

“A side of Norway I never suspected!”

The Assistant takes the reader to a fascinating epoch - Norway, on the brink of the Second World War, where former smuggler, Jack Rivers, and ex-cop, Ludvig Paaske, run a detective agency together. (Rivers is the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1
Raven88

“A perfect slice of historical crime fiction...”

Following K. O. Dahl’s previous historically based crime standalone, The Courier, set in post war Norway, we are now transported to the pre-war period, where unrest and uncertainty is growing, and life is on the brink... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.