The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning (Paperback)
  • The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning (Paperback)
zoom

The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 18/09/2012
  • 5+ in stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath's poetry to Francis Bacon's paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono's performance art, Nelson's nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility.

Publisher: WW Norton & Co
ISBN: 9780393343144
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 236 g
Dimensions: 211 x 140 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"An important and frequently surprising book... could be read as the foundation for a post-avant-garde aesthetics... Nelson, who is also a poet, is such a graceful writer that I...just sat back and enjoyed the show." -- Laura Kipnis - New York Times Book Review
"[Nelson's] critiques of individual artists are delightfully fierce without being mean spirited... Fascinating and bracingly intelligent...The Art of Cruelty's prose is often gorgeous." -- Troy Jollimore - Boston Globe
"A lean-forward experience, and in its most transcendent moments, reading it can feel like having the best conversation of your life." -- Rachel Syme - NPR Books
"I hope that critics, and aspiring critics, and those who are interested in the relationship between art and ethics, read [The Art of Cruelty]." -- Susie Linfield - New Republic
"[Nelson] dexterously, and creatively, manages to hold a mirror to our culture's fascination with cruelty and invites us to reflect on our personal reasons for indulging it." -- Eleni Theodoropoulos - Literary Hub

You may also be interested in...

Watercolor Sketching
Added to basket
£17.99
Paperback
Of Poetry and Protest
Added to basket
The Book
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Saving Italy
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
How to See
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Dams
Added to basket
£60.00
Hardback
R. Crumb
Added to basket
£19.99
Hardback
Love and Resistance
Added to basket
£17.99
Hardback
Wagstaff: Before and After Mapplethorpe
Added to basket
The Collector of Lives
Added to basket
Louis Kahn
Added to basket
£17.99
Paperback
Voyage Le Corbusier
Added to basket
Knitting Pearls
Added to basket
£11.50
Paperback
Wear, Repair, Repurpose
Added to basket
The Collector of Lives
Added to basket
How to See
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.