The Archaic: The Past in the Present (Paperback)
  • The Archaic: The Past in the Present (Paperback)
zoom

The Archaic: The Past in the Present (Paperback)

(editor)
£35.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 28/09/2011
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

The Archaic takes as its major reference points C.G. Jung's classic essay, 'Archaic Man' (1930), and Ernesto Grassi's paper on 'Archaic Theories of History' (1990). Moving beyond the confines of a Jungian framework to include other methodological approaches, this book explores the concept of the archaic.

Defined as meaning 'old-fashioned', 'primitive', 'antiquated', the archaic is, in fact, much more than something very, very old: it is timeless, inasmuch as it is before time itself. Arche, Urgrund, Ungrund, 'primordial darkness', 'eternal nothing' are names for something essentially nameless, yet whose presence we nevertheless intuit.

This book focuses on the reception of myth in the tradition of German Idealism or Romanticism (Creuzer, Schelling, Nietzsche), which not only looked back to earlier thinkers (such as Jacob Boehme) but also laid down roots for developments in twentieth-century thought (Ludwig Klages, Martin Heidegger). The Archaic also includes:

studies of the Germanic dimension of the archaic (Charles Bambach, Alan Cardew)a discussion of the mytho-phenomenological approach to the archaic (Robert Josef Kozljanic)a series of articles on Jung's understanding of the archaic (Paul Bishop, Susan Rowland, Robert Segal).

This book will be of interest to psychoanalysts, anthropologists and phenomenologists, as well as students of psychology, cultural studies, religious studies, and philosophy, as it seeks to rehabilitate a concept of demonstrable and urgent relevance for our time.

Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
ISBN: 9780415547567
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 454 g
Dimensions: 235 x 159 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

Battle Scars
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
12 Rules for Life
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
When the Dogs Don't Bark
Added to basket
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Happy Ever After
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Man's Search For Meaning
Added to basket
Outliers
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Organized Mind
Added to basket
Seven Signs of Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sex Power Money
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Why We Sleep
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The 4 Pillar Plan
Added to basket
The Descent of Man
Added to basket
Tiny Habits
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Paperback
The Shapeless Unease
Added to basket
Thinking, Fast and Slow
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.