The Antique Hunter's Guide to Murder - The Antique Hunters (Hardback)
  • The Antique Hunter's Guide to Murder - The Antique Hunters (Hardback)
zoom

The Antique Hunter's Guide to Murder - The Antique Hunters (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 384 Pages
Published: 29/02/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Opening a delicious new crime series perfect for fans of Richard Coles and Richard Osman, this brilliant cosy crime caper finds Freya and her eccentric Aunt Carole sucked into a thrilling mystery, as a prominent antique dealer and Freya's estranged mentor leaves her a letter full of clues just before his demise.

WHAT ANTIQUE WOULD YOU KILL FOR?

Freya, it's down to you to finish what I started. . .

Freya Lockwood has avoided the quaint English village in which she grew up for the last 20 years. That is until news arrives that Arthur Crockleford, antiques dealer and Freya's estranged mentor, has died... and the circumstances seem suspicious.

You will uncover a reservation, I implore you to attend. . .

But when a letter from Arthur is delivered, sent just days before his death, and an ordinary pine chest concealing Arthur's journals including reservations in her name are revealed, Freya finds herself sucked back into a life she'd sworn to leave behind.

But beware, trust no-one. Your life depends on it. . .

Joining forces with her eccentric Aunt Carole, Arthur's staunch best friend, Freya follows both clues and her instincts to an old manor house for an 'antiques enthusiasts weekend'. But not is all as it seems; the antiques are bad reproductions and the other guests are menacing and secretive.

Can Freya and Carole solve the mystery surrounding the weekend before a killer strikes again?

C L Miller's The Antique Hunter's Guide to Murder is the start of your new favourite crime series, The Number One Ladies Detective Agency meets Midsomer Murders by way of Reverend Richard Coles and Richard Osman.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781035021802
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 599 g
Dimensions: 242 x 160 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

It’s a delicious read - packed with fascinating details in a picture-perfect setting. Who could resist a treasure hunt with murder at its core? - SJ Bennett

The perfect cosy crime read for antique hunters everywhere!' - Katherine Blake

Brilliantly fun, fast-paced mystery set against the murkier side of the antiques world - where everyone has a price and no one is who they say they are. Freya Lockwood for the new James Bond! - Jessica Bull

Irresistible, immersive and completely unputdownable, think the Antiques Roadshow meets Miss Marple with a deliciously OTT cast of characters and twist after twist after twist. - Ellery Lloyd

What a unique and very enjoyable take on the classic whodunnit! - Jo Silva

What a treat! A unique and compelling debut by an outstanding author - I couldn't stop turning the pages! The fabulously drawn characters leapt from the page and drew me into this engrossing murder mystery. - Kathryn Croft

A perfect indulgence and an absolute joy to read. It's as much about the antiques you might kill for as the joy of second chances, with enough eccentric characters pretending to be someone else to populate a Wodehouse novel. - Nicki Thornton

Every now and then a crime series lands that grabs the attention and holds it tight - this is one of those series. It's a rare jewel of a book with exceptional provenance and one of my most anticipated reads of 2024. - Kate Wells

Intrigue, enigma and murder in a quaint Suffolk village - antiques have never been so much fun. - Holly Hepburn

It's a delight! - Katie Fforde

An utterly charming mystery rich with detail and thrumming with intrigue. C.L. Miller’s connection to the world of antiques shines through in her writing. - Robyn Harding

A fresh voice and a new take on the crime fiction genre, C.L Miller’s debut is authentic, knowledgeable and intriguing. I have a feeling this one will be huge. - Mari Hannah

A charming tale for the whodunit lover - warm and wise. Go Freya! Go Auntie Carole! - Orlando Murrin

C.L. Miller delivers a fun, fascinating, and satisfying read in a giddy and compelling take on an old manor mystery featuring a reluctant detective—and her dazzling elderly aunt—struggling to find herself while tracking a killer. The Antique Hunters Guide to Murder combines charm and depth with two fantastic female leads who will deeply delight fans of Sue Grafton and Agatha Christie. - Amber Cowie

A whodunnit meets treasure hunt sprinkled with antiques - what’s not to love? Polished to a gleam, there’s not a speck of dust on this one. Page-turning, full of fascinating nuggets about the antiques world, and enormous fun to read. A real treat. - Eve Chase

One of my favourite reads of the summer. Part cosy crime, part international conspiracy thriller, it is brilliantly plotted, gripping until the end, with a main character readers will love. - Michelle Davies

It takes a lot of talent and skill to write both a pulse-pounding and laugh-out-loud mystery, and C.L Miller has brilliantly accomplished that. Set in the surprisingly cutthroat, dangerous world of antiques, this novel has it all: a cast of suspicious and utterly entertaining characters, a relatable heroine and her plucky sidekick, and tension that builds chapter by chapter. The Antique Hunter’s Guide to Murder is delightful, sharp, and absolutely irresistible. A fascinating read! - Samantha Bailey

A work of art worthy of its objets d'art theme. Page-turning, adventurous, full of antiques and vivid characters. - Rachel Louise Driscoll

A precious gem of a book. I loved following Freya and Aunt Carole on this atmospheric and entertaining journey through the world of priceless artifacts and convincing fakes. - Jessa Maxwell

The Antique Hunter’s Guide to Murder is a bold, bright and delightful jaunt back to the golden age of detective fiction, as the mysterious demise of an antiques dealer is investigated by his estranged colleague. But can Freya apply her skills as an antique ‘hunter' to the hunt for a murderer? Expertly plotted and skilfully written, with suspicious characters, devious twists and evocative locations, this pacey page-turner has it all. A cracking debut from C.L.Miller! - Janice Hallett

A propulsive mystery, Miller’s stand-out debut is an all consuming ride! Expertly paced with an indelible cast of characters The Antique Hunter’s Guide to Murder is pure fun in book form. Fans of Richard Osman and Agatha Christie will be clamoring for book two! (I know I am!) - Katy Hays

A delightful read from start to finish, filled with highly entertaining characters and a terrific central mystery. Those who devoured Magpie Murders and The Thursday Murder Club should zoom this to the top of their reading lists. - BP Walter

You may also be interested in...

The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Just Another Missing Person
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Resurrection Walk
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Exchange
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Wrong Sister
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Both Thrilling and Cosy in Equal Measure”

The Antique Hunter's Guide to Murder is set in my local area of "sleepy Suffolk" and I greatly appreciated the comforting familiarity of this. Miller's writing style is so charming and her... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 13

“A great debut!”

I didn't know much about this book before reading but thought the blurb sounded good so gave it a go. I ended up really enjoying it!

Some really likable and interesting characters and I loved hearing the voice... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“This is a fast paced adventure that grips you right from the start.”

This is an amazing story. Freya used to be an antiques assessor. The job meant looking for stolen or forged antiques. Freya used to work with Arthur before she married and fell out with him. Years later Arthur has... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: