The Animals at Lockwood Manor: Signed Edition (Hardback)
  • The Animals at Lockwood Manor: Signed Edition (Hardback)
  • The Animals at Lockwood Manor: Signed Edition (Hardback)
zoom
The Animals at Lockwood Manor: Signed Edition (Hardback)

The Animals at Lockwood Manor: Signed Edition (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 05/03/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A gloriously gothic extravaganza, perfect for fans of Sarah Perry and Bridget Collins, Healey’s darkly atmospheric tale of a wartime menagerie haunting the corridors of the eponymous stately home is a masterclass in slow-burning tension and storytelling dynamics. Eerie, romantic and ineffably sinister, The Animals of Lockwood Manor is a stunningly realised piece of historical fiction.

Signed Edition

Some secrets are unspoken. Others are unspeakable ...

August 1939.

Thirty-year-old Hetty Cartwright is tasked with the evacuation and safekeeping of the natural history museum's collection of mammals. Once she and her exhibits arrive at Lockwood Manor, however, where they are to stay for the duration of the war, Hetty soon realizes that she's taken on more than she'd bargained for.

Protecting her charges from the irascible Lord Lockwood and resentful servants is work enough, but when some of the animals go missing, and worse, Hetty begins to suspect someone - or something - is stalking her through the darkened corridors of the house.

As the disasters mount, Hetty finds herself falling under the spell of Lucy, Lord Lockwood's beautiful but clearly haunted daughter. But why is Lucy so traumatized? Does she know something she's not telling? And is there any truth to local rumours of ghosts and curses?

Part love story, part mystery, The Animals at Lockwood Manor by Jane Healey is a gripping and atmospheric tale of family madness, long-buried secrets and hidden desires.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 2928377007973
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 216 x 135 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Jane Healey's excellent debut novel is a rich story full of tension and darkness. The star of the novel is the claustrophobic Manor itself, which casts a shadow over every page and hides a truly horrible secret. Atmospheric and disquieting, The Animals at Lockwood Manor is an ideal book club read' - A J Pearce, author of Dear Mrs Bird

You may also be interested in...

Wolf Hall
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Devil in the Marshalsea
Added to basket
Company of Liars
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
The Glass Palace
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Miniaturist
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Mythos
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Alone in Berlin
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Labyrinth
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Silence of the Girls
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Pillars of the Earth
Added to basket
Fingersmith
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Music & Silence
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Some secrets are unspeakable.....”

This wonderfully atmospheric story opens up with Hetty Cartwright a young museum curator being evacuated with the National Museum’s mammal collection to Lockwood Manor at the beginning of Second World War. Her job is... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11

“History, love and secrets.”

Hetty is asked to look after a series of animals, which are being moved to Lockwood manor during the war. She is knowledgable in her field, yet she does not know what to expect travelling away from London.
Lockwood... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 6

“A tense, suspenseful debut historical novel”

The Animals at Lockwood Manor is a debut historical fiction novel. It takes place in England during the second world war. Hetty Cartwright is tasked with moving animal specimens from the Natural History Museum... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.