Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Almanack (Paperback)
  • The Almanack (Paperback)
zoom

The Almanack (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 07/11/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
'Bailey's prose sparkles' The Times 'Puzzle solvers and historians will love this mystery' Booklist 'Murderously dark and delightful' MELISSA BAILEY SUPERSTITION. MURDER. VENGEANCE. Tabitha Hart earns a scandalous living in London, with whichever gentleman has enough coin for her company. But in the summer of 1752, her mother urgently summons her home to the village of Netherlea and, with reluctance, she returns. However, she is greeted by the news that her mother has died in disturbing circumstances. Finding cryptic notes in her mother's almanack, Tabitha is determined to discover the truth, but the superstitious villagers are wary of her. Only the enigmatic Nat Starling is prepared to join her, as she sets out to uncover her mother's killer. But soon the summer draws to a close and snow sets in, cutting off Netherlea from the outside world. As an unknown killer prophesies their deaths, Tabitha and Nat now face the darkest hours of their lives.

Publisher: Canongate Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781838850357
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 297 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Bailey's prose sparkles * * The Times * *
A dark and twisting riddle that is certain to keep readers guessing until the end -- S D SYKES
An ingeniously plotted, hauntingly atmospheric murder mystery -- DEBORAH SWIFT
A beguiling historical novel set in the Georgian era. Witty, wily, and great fun -- ESSIE FOX
Puzzle solvers and historians will love this mystery, and Bailey's richly detailed story is perfect for fans of Ariana Franklin and Rhys Bowen * * Booklist * *
A beautifully constructed, deeply satisfying read that plays with the reader, demanding that you keep your eyes on the shadows as much as on the main stage. And it has riddles . . . 50 of them to read with the story or save for a treat * * Historia Magazine * *
Historical fans are in for a treat * * Publishers Weekly * *
As clever and beautiful as a tapestry -- REBECCA MASCULL
Murderously dark and delightful -- MELISSA BAILEY

You may also be interested in...

Fear on the Phantom Special
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heartstone
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Vanished Bride
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Glass Woman
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Capitol Death
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Points of Danger
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Art of Dying
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Nothing Ventured
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Wolf and the Watchman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.