The Age of Light (Paperback)
  • The Age of Light (Paperback)
zoom

The Age of Light (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
? RRP £8.99
£2.24
Save £6.75 (75%)
Paperback 320 Pages
Published: 02/04/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

For fans of Mrs Hemingway and The Paris Wife, Whitney Scharer's The Age of Light is the riveting, vivid and powerful story of the photographer Lee Miller and her lover, Man Ray.

Model. Muse. Lover. Artist.

Paris, 1929. Lee Miller has abandoned her life in New York and a modelling career at Vogue to pursue her dream of becoming a photographer. When she catches the eye of artist Man Ray she convinces him to hire her as his assistant. Man is an egotistical, charismatic force and they soon embark upon a passionate affair.

Lee and Man spend their days working closely in the studio and their nights at smoky cabarets and wild parties. But as Lee begins to assert herself, and to create pioneering work of her own, Man's jealousy spirals out of control and leads to a betrayal that threatens to destroy them both . . .

‘Powerful, sensual and gripping’ - Madeleine Miller, author of Circe
‘Fans of Mrs Hemingway and The Paris Wife will love this one’ - Elle

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509889150
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 273 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Scharer simultaneously conjures Paris of the Thirties - whether artists' studios, seedy dives or glamorous parties - with the deftest of brush strokes - Daily Mail

A startlingly modern love story and a mesmerizing portrait of a woman’s self-transformation from muse into artist - Celeste Ng, New York Times bestselling author of Little Fires Everywhere

Here Scharer tells a vivid story - Eithne Farry, Daily Mirror

This gripping insight into the bohemian Paris of the 1930s is packed full of passion and heart - My Weekly

Captivating - Sunday Express

This is a sensuous evocation of the adventures of a talented and beautiful artist in the heady ferment of 1930s Paris - Daily Mail

A multifaceted portrait of a 20th-century icon . . . seductively drawn . . . the tale on one woman's determination to set her own course - Sunday Times

This intoxicating debut based on real-life model-turned-photographer Lee Miller is hard to put down - Woman's Weekly

Rapturous and razor sharp all at once . . . Whitney Scharer is a stunning new discovery. This novel sparks on every page - Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife

Fans of Mrs Hemingway and The Paris Wife will love this one - Elle

Fascinating - Red Magazine

Utterly immersive . . . this is a powerful, sensual and gripping portrait of the forging of an artist’s soul - Madeline Miller, New York Times bestselling author of Circe

I adored The Age of Light by Whitney Scharer, which was every bit as wonderful as I’d hoped it would be. A stunning debut - fascinating, evocative and beautifully written. I loved it - Jill Mansell

Sumptuous and enveloping and beautifully told. I was utterly absorbed in Lee Miller's life and work, and in the heady atmosphere of 1930s Paris . . . Stunning - Laura Barnett, author of The Versions of Us

Based on the real-life relationship between iconic model-turned-photographer Lee Miller and surrealist artist Man Ray, this is a deliciously chic feminist take on a legend - Grazia

The Age of Light is mesmerising, beautifully written and deeply convincing. I loved it - Elizabeth Macneal, author of The Doll Factory

Spectacular and riveting . . . The prose is sleek and stylish and purrs along - Daily Express

Captivating - Good Housekeeping

This magnetic, addictive novel will beguile every reader. Read it, read it! - Jenna Blum, New York Times bestselling author of Those Who Save Us and The Lost Family

A dazzling novel of decadence, passion, art and betrayal . . . I adored it - Lucy Diamond

In this sumptuous novel, Whitney Scharer shines a well-deserved light on a fascinating figure - Emerald Street

This gorgeously written novel uses the relationship between Lee Miller and Man Ray to ask pertinent questions about the relationship between love, ambition and art - i-news

A collision of creativity, ambition, passion, jealousy and possessiveness . . . played out amid the giddy excesses of the surrealist crowd. Scharer captures the thrill of artistic creation and the swirling hedonism of Paris’s beautiful people - Times

A gorgeous evocation of the life of Lee Miller. The prose is stunning, the settings perfect - this is the woman that the work only hinted at. Absolutely breathtaking - Emma Flint, author of Little Deaths

Scharer sets her viewfinder selectively, focusing on her heroine's insecurities as much as her accomplishments as an artist; her hunger to be more than "a neck to hold pearls, a slim waist to show off a belt" is contrasted with her habit of solving problems by simply leaving. The price for Lee is steep, but it makes for irresistible reading. Sexy and moving. - Kirkus

Scharer’s stellar debut chronicles the tumultuous working and romantic relationships of photographer Man Ray and model-turned-photographer Lee Miller in early 1930s Paris. Scharer’s brilliant portrayal of the complicated couple features a page-turning story and thrillingly depicts the artistic process. - Publishers Weekly

A bold, intimate and gorgeous novel - at once a vivid romp through the salons and parties of the Paris art world in the 1930s and a breathtaking close up of a woman battling to be both muse and artist, lover and collaborator, and above all, herself - Jessica Shattuck, author of The Woman in the Castle and The Hazards of Good Breeding

An uplifting, heartbreaking and altogether immersive read - Helen Simonson, New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Before The War and Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand

A masterpiece, The Age of Light is a searing, evocative novel of love and war, and a woman's fierce determination to transcend her role as muse and remake the world through her own art - Dawn Tripp, author of Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keefe

Intoxicating . . . Scharer is always alert to the interplay of passion, intelligence, exhilaration, bitterness, and melancholy that fueled this unique woman to create a life of her own. The object of an intense bidding war that resulted in a million-dollar deal, Scharer's first novel more than lives up to its prepublication hype. - Booklist

Scharer’s wonderful novel is a sensory, sensual feast: a passionate love story, a clear-eyed examination of an artist’s life, and an evocation of the ways people can make and break each other - Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Glittering - TLS

You may also be interested in...

Godmersham Park
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Paris Affair
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Bridgerton: Romancing Mr Bridgerton
Added to basket
Wartime Wishes at Bletchley Park
Added to basket
The House of Fortune
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting
Added to basket
The Temple of Fortuna
Added to basket
Night Train to Marrakech
Added to basket
The Missing Sister
Added to basket
In Memoriam
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Gold
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Pillars of the Earth
Added to basket
The Wolf Den
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Four Winds
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lucky Penny
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Paris...Photography...Romance...”

An intriguing guide to the many layers of Parisian life. Explore the city through the complex relationship between Lee Miller and Man Ray. They can not imagine life without each other. Lee is the star, her fierce... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 89

“Art, love and Paris...”

At the background of 1920’s Paris, we delve into the story of Lee Miller, a beautiful American model, turned world famous photographer. Her turbulent relationship with Man Ray is the essence of this wonderfully told... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 64

“(Re)discovering Lee Miller”

This is a beautiful, profoundly moving account of the life of Lee Miller, model, photographer and war correspondent who is not as well known as she should be. The book opens in 1966 when, settled in a stale marriage... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: