The Accident - Biblioasis International Translation (Paperback)
  • The Accident - Biblioasis International Translation (Paperback)
zoom

The Accident - Biblioasis International Translation (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£12.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 23/06/2011
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the tradition of Sandor Marai, Mihail Sebastian is a captivating Central European storyteller from the first half of the twentieth century whose work is being rediscovered by new generations of readers throughout Europe, Latin America, and the United States. The 2000 publication of his Journal 1935-1944: The Fascist Years introduced his writing to an English-speaking audience for the first time, garnering universal acclaim. Philip Roth wrote that Sebastian's Journal "deserves to be on the same shelf as Anne Frank's Diary and to find as huge a readership." Outside of the English-speaking world, Sebastian's reputation rests on his fiction. This publication of The Accident marks the first appearance of the author's fiction in English. A love story set in the Bucharest art world of the 1930s and the Transylvanian mountains, it is a deeply romantic, enthralling tale of two people who meet by chance. Along snowy ski trails and among a mysterious family in a mountain cabin, Paul and Nora, united by an attraction that contains elements of repulsion, find the keys to their fate. Mihail Sebastian (1907-1945) was born in southeastern Romania and worked in Bucharest as a lawyer, journalist, novelist, and playwright until anti-Semitic legislation forced him to abandon his public career. His long-lost diary, Journal 1935-1944: The Fascist Years, was published in seven countries between 1996 and 2007, launching an international revival of his work. Sebastian's novels and plays are available in translation throughout Europe, and also have been published in Chinese, Hindi, Bengali, and Hebrew.

Publisher: Biblioasis
ISBN: 9781926845166
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 327 g
Dimensions: 210 x 134 x 18 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Eagle Has Landed
Added to basket
The Things They Carried
Added to basket
A Long Long Way
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Triumph
Added to basket
Two Brothers
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Tiger
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Birdsong
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
For Whom The Bell Tolls
Added to basket
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The English Patient
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Bomber
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Munitions Girls
Added to basket
The Fort
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Gladiator (Eagles of the Empire 9)
Added to basket
August 1914
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.