Find your perfect holiday reading
The 13th Apostle: A Novel of Michael Collins and the Irish Uprising (Paperback)
  • The 13th Apostle: A Novel of Michael Collins and the Irish Uprising (Paperback)
zoom

The 13th Apostle: A Novel of Michael Collins and the Irish Uprising (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 592 Pages / Published: 11/04/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, the first great revolution of the twentieth century began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland, including the General Post Office on O'Connell Street. Among the commoners in the GPO was a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers named Michael Collins. He was joined a day later by a fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.

The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins, along with his young acolyte Eoin, transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins's secret weapon was his intelligence system and his assassination squad, nicknamed "The Twelve Apostles." On November 21, 1920, the squad with its thirteenth member, young Eoin assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the Treaty at 10 Downing Street, which brought into being what is, today, the Republic of Ireland.

An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan's The Year of the French and Leon Uris's Trinity, The 13th Apostle will capture the imagination and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
ISBN: 9781510712072
Number of pages: 592
Weight: 660 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"McEvoy gives us the story of the Irish War for Independence in all its vivid, intimate, squalid, intricate, heroic, and tragic immediacy. . . . This is historical fiction of a rare and wonderful sort." Peter Quinn, author of Banished Children of Eve
"McEvoy gives us the story of the Irish War for Independence in all its vivid, intimate, squalid, intricate, heroic, and tragic immediacy. . . . This is historical fiction of a rare and wonderful sort." Peter Quinn, author of Banished Children of Eve

You may also be interested in...

The Leopard
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.