Tennis Lessons (Hardback)
  • Tennis Lessons (Hardback)
zoom

Tennis Lessons (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 256 Pages / Published: 16/07/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

For fans of I MAY DESTROY YOU and FLEABAG and for readers who want to laugh and cry: the brave, beautiful, sometimes brutal story of a young misfit and her rocky road to womanhood, stopping at each year along the way.

'I loved Tennis Lessons so much' ELIZABETH DAY

'A raw, fierce, shockingly honest coming-of-age story' LOUISE O'NEILL

'Incredibly funny . . . by turns charming and disgusting and I loved it' NELL FRIZZELL


You're strange and wrong.
You've known it from the beginning.


This is the voice that rings in your ears. Because you never say the right thing. You're a disappointment to everyone. You're a far cry from beautiful - and your thoughts are ugly too.

You seem bound to fail, bound to break.

But you know what it is to laugh with your best friend, to feel the first tentative tingles of attraction, to take exquisite pleasure in the affront of your unruly body.

You just need to find your place.

From dead pets and crashed cars to family traumas and misguided love affairs, Susannah Dickey's revitalizing debut novel plunges us into the private world of one young woman as she navigates her rocky way to adulthood.

'Brilliant . . . a wonderful writer, hugely talented, very funny and insightful' ALAN DAVIES

'Propulsive . . . brilliantly vivid . . . stays in the mind long after reading' IRISH TIMES

'A beautifully written and psychologically incisive bildungsroman...the arrival of a young writer to watch' OBSERVER

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780857526861
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 377 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 144 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A fresh-eyed read. It's funny and honest, brutally so, and every so often sneaks up and punches you right in the guts. It's the kind of book you read in one furious sitting, then find yourself mulling over for weeks to come. Susannah Dickey's got a strange and sublime way of seeing the world.' - Jan Carson

'Tennis Lessons is an incredibly funny and poignant portrait of what it is to be young, female and human. The whole thing is witty - the narrative voice, the dialogue, the plot and the detail - while also having searing moments of sadness, discomfort and cruelty. Susannah Dickey has created a world and a main character that is by turns disgusting and charming and I loved it.' - Nell Frizzell

'Gently comic and compassionate' - Independent

'Tennis Lessons is a singular creation - a vivid, funny, emotionally intelligent dissection of an ordinary life.' - Nicole Flattery

'Recalling the grotesque of Christine Schutt and Deborah Levy, Susannah Dickey's Tennis Lessons is an achingly vital novel, a work of blood and flesh, convulsing in the heat of mortality.' - Kevin Breathnach

You may also be interested in...

Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Utopia Avenue
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Freed
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd.
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“An excellent debut”

Thanks to Transworld and NetGalley for an advance e-copy of this title.

I really enjoyed Tennis Lessons; it’s an endearing and strange look at being a young woman, growing up at roughly the same time as I did.... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Some Grim Lessons... women lose!”

This is a strange book and I have to say that I didn’t warm to the story or the characters. It’s written in a series of episodes in the life of a young woman beginning when she is not much more than a toddler and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Tells it as it is”

A coming of age story that tells it as it is.

Thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for the ARC in return for an honest and unbiased opinion

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.