Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
Tars: Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War (Paperback)
  • Tars: Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War (Paperback)
zoom

Tars: Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 12/06/2008
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

TARS is a gripping firsthand account of life in the Royal Navy at its bloodiest and most temptestuous phase, beginning in 1758. Through the lives of the main protagonists - a small band of sailors from across the ranks - TRAFALGAR author Tim Clayton paints a vivid picture of the navy and the era, from close-quarter battles and roistering on the streets of London to the political decisions that built up and knocked down empires.

In this death-or-glory era the navy became the main weapon of an aggressive and power-hungry government, and fighting at sea was carried out at ever-closer quarters and with ever-increasing amounts of firepower. Using never-before published first-person sources, TARS takes us through these men's daily struggles as Britain navigated her course on the political map.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9780340898031
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 310 g
Dimensions: 197 x 136 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Accessible, well researched, and a true literary masterpiece. * Mountbatten Maritime Award *
engaging and original, Tars is an impressive book that deserves a wide readership. * International Journal of Maritime History *
'Ideal for fans of Patrick O'Brien' * Bookseller *
Excellent . . . comprehensively researched, vividly written and judiciously argued. Wonderfully detailed pen portraits . . . Much new material from French and Spanish sources gives a rounded picture . . . it is this perspective from both sides of the battle that makes the book so compelling. * Saul David, Daily Telegraph on TRAFALGAR *
A landmark book. * Observer on TRAFALGAR *
Vivid and compelling . . . an account of significant importance. * Naval Review on TRAFALGAR *

You may also be interested in...

Nelson
Added to basket
£25.00
Paperback
Citizen Sailors
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
With the Old Breed
Added to basket
Phoenix Squadron
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sea Wolves
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Hunter Killers
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Remember Scarborough
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Lost Voices of The Royal Navy
Added to basket
Jutland, 1916
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Cox's Navy
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Empire of the Deep
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Nelson: A Dream of Glory
Added to basket
The Bismarck 1941
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Jack Tar
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Commander
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Iron Coffins
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Tars”

Whilst at a waterstones store I picked up this book in the bestsellers range. The next part will sound very thick indeed. I picked up this book thinking it was fiction and began to read it the next week in Lagos,... More

Paperback edition
28th August 2008
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.