Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Target Tirpitz: X-Craft, Agents and Dambusters - the Epic Quest to Destroy Hitler's Mightiest Warship (Paperback)
  • Target Tirpitz: X-Craft, Agents and Dambusters - the Epic Quest to Destroy Hitler's Mightiest Warship (Paperback)
zoom

Target Tirpitz: X-Craft, Agents and Dambusters - the Epic Quest to Destroy Hitler's Mightiest Warship (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 19/07/2012
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A gripping account of the epic hunt for Hitler's most terrifying battleship - the legendary Tirpitz - and the brave men who risked their lives to attack and destroy this most potent symbol of the Nazi's fearsome war machine.

Tirpitz was the pride of Hitler's navy. To Churchill, she was `the Beast', a menace to Britain's supply lines and a threat to the convoys sustaining Stalin's armies. Tirpitz was said to be unsinkable, impregnable -no other target attracted so much attention.

In total 36 major Allied operations were launched against her, including desperately risky missions by human torpedoes and midget submarines and near-suicidal bombing raids. Yet Tirpitz stayed afloat. It was not until November 1944 that she was finally destroyed by RAF Lancaster Bombers flown by 617 Squadron - the Dambusters - in a gruelling mission that tested the very limits of human endurance.

The man who led the raid - Willie Tait - was one of the most remarkable figures of the war, flying missions almost continuously right from the start. Until now his deeds have been virtually unknown. With exclusive co-operation from Tait's family, Patrick Bishop reveals the extraordinary achievement of a man who shunned the spotlight but whose name will be renowned for generations to come.

The book is a magnificent, accessibly written wartime adventure, perfect for fans of Ben Macintyre's `Agent Zigzag' or `Operation Mincemeat'.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007319244
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 310 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

`This is a great wartime story, gung-ho in its praise of the men who finally sank Tirpitz, yet compassionate towards her courageous crew. Already a bestselling war historian with his books on the RAF, Target Tirpitz proves that Bishop has sea legs, and this book should add another fleet of fans to his existing army of admirers' Sunday Telegraph

`The story of the successive British efforts to destroy [the Tirpitz] is remarkable indeed, and Bishop deploys all his splendid narrative gifts to do it justice' Max Hastings, Sunday Times

`Spellbinding...While he is adept at explaining the strategic picture it is in his intense description of set-pieces and of the heroic dedication of their human participants that Bishop excels' Daily Express

`Patrick Bishop wisely concentrates his splendid narrative on the many ingenious and extremely hazardous British attempts to destroy [the Tirpitz]...Bishop does this tale extraordinary justice...Elegantly written and exhaustively researched, Target Tirpitz is a fitting memorial to all those who perished in this relatively unknown chapter of naval warfare.' Daily Telegraph

`The story of the successive British efforts to destroy (the Tirpitz) is remarkable indeed, and Bishop deploys all his splendid narrative gifts to do it justice' Sunday Times

You may also be interested in...

Pilgrim Spy
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The German War
Added to basket
Hitler's Monsters
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Women Who Flew for Hitler
Added to basket
The Most Dangerous Enemy
Added to basket
The Nazi Hunters
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Berlin
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
French and Germans, Germans and French
Added to basket
Operation Mincemeat
Added to basket
Big Week
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hunting the Nazi Bomb
Added to basket
Goebbels
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“Fully descriptive title GREAT, drew my interest”

As in his previous book of the Boys of the RAF Bishop puts the reader in a front row seat on all the attempts of Great Britain's (nee' Churchill's obsession) with the sinking of this German threat to... More

Hardback edition
23rd April 2012
Helpful? Upvote 38

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.