Talking to Terrorists: How to End Armed Conflicts (Paperback)
  • Talking to Terrorists: How to End Armed Conflicts (Paperback)
zoom

Talking to Terrorists: How to End Armed Conflicts (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 19/11/2015
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket

Across the world governments proclaim that they will never 'negotiate with evil'.

And yet they always have and always will.


From jungle clearings to stately homes and anonymous airport hotels, Talking to Terrorists puts us in the room with the terrorists, secret agents and go-betweens who seek to change the course of history.

Jonathan Powell has spent nearly two decades mediating between governments and terrorist organisations. Drawing on conflicts from Colombia and Sri Lanka to Palestine and South Africa, this optimistic, wide-ranging, authoritative book is about how and why we should talk to terrorists.

'Essential reading' Independent

'Fascinating' Sunday Times


Now includes a new Afterword - Talking to ISIL


*Perfect for fans of The Looming Tower*

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9780099575863
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 298 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Essential reading for all parties in conflict -- Patrick Cockburn * Independent *
Fascinating -- Michael Ignatieff * Sunday Times *
This is an inspiring book. You'll enter the New Year shaking hands with all. -- Kirsty Brimelow * The Times *
This is an unusual, indeed a unique, book -- Oliver Miles * Guardian *
The book is an enthralling case study of the art, in which Powell carefully establishes his argument for why dialogue with terror groups is usually necessary -- Anthony Loyd * New Statesman *
It is a witty, light-footed, anecdote-rich history of the recent art of talking to terrorists -- Justin Webb * The Times *
Thoughtful, well-structured, intelligent and well-informed -- Conor Gearty * Irish Times *
Intelligent and insightful book on conflict resolution -- Andrew Lynch * Sunday Business Post *

You may also be interested in...

A Cruel and Shocking Act
Added to basket
The Assassination of the Archduke
Added to basket
The Year Of Liberty
Added to basket
A Secret History of the IRA
Added to basket
Out of the Mountains
Added to basket
Rebel Hearts
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Looming Tower
Added to basket
The Northern Ireland Conflict
Added to basket
Big Boys' Rules
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
13 Hours
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Underground
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Farewell Kabul
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Voices from the Grave
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Provos
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Shankill Butchers
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.