Talking to Terrorists: How to End Armed Conflicts (Paperback)
  • Talking to Terrorists: How to End Armed Conflicts (Paperback)
zoom

Talking to Terrorists: How to End Armed Conflicts (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 19/11/2015
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Across the world governments proclaim that they will never ‘negotiate with evil’.

And yet they always have and always will.

From jungle clearings to stately homes and anonymous airport hotels, Talking to Terrorists puts us in the room with the terrorists, secret agents and go-betweens who seek to change the course of history.

Jonathan Powell has spent nearly two decades mediating between governments and terrorist organisations. Drawing on conflicts from Colombia and Sri Lanka to Palestine and South Africa, this optimistic, wide-ranging, authoritative book is about how and why we should talk to terrorists.

‘Essential reading’ Independent

‘Fascinating’ Sunday Times

Now includes a new Afterword - Talking to ISIL

*Perfect for fans of The Looming Tower*

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9780099575863
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 298 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Essential reading for all parties in conflict - Patrick Cockburn, Independent

Fascinating - Michael Ignatieff, Sunday Times

This is an inspiring book. You’ll enter the New Year shaking hands with all. - Kirsty Brimelow, The Times

This is an unusual, indeed a unique, book - Oliver Miles, Guardian

The book is an enthralling case study of the art, in which Powell carefully establishes his argument for why dialogue with terror groups is usually necessary - Anthony Loyd, New Statesman

It is a witty, light-footed, anecdote-rich history of the recent art of talking to terrorists - Justin Webb, The Times

Thoughtful, well-structured, intelligent and well-informed - Conor Gearty, Irish Times

Intelligent and insightful book on conflict resolution - Andrew Lynch, Sunday Business Post

You may also be interested in...

The Shankill Butchers
Added to basket
The Year Of Liberty
Added to basket
The Provos
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Ghost Wars
Added to basket
£18.99
Paperback
Killing Rage
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Gunpowder Plot
Added to basket
Farewell Kabul
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Writings From Prison
Added to basket
The I.R.A.
Added to basket
£19.99
Paperback
The Looming Tower
Added to basket
The Trigger Men
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Underground
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Ten Men Dead
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Rebel Hearts
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Rise of Islamic State
Added to basket
A Secret History of the IRA
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: