The Testaments out now
Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger: Book 1 - Tales from Schwartzgarten (Paperback)
  • Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger: Book 1 - Tales from Schwartzgarten (Paperback)
zoom

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger: Book 1 - Tales from Schwartzgarten (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 06/06/2013
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The first book in the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten series.

Meet Osbert Brinkhoff, the unlikeliest of avengers. His is a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. The villains are vicious. The settings are sinister. And good does NOT always prevail...

If you prefer cleavers to kittens and fiends to fairies...then welcome to the GRUESOMELY FUNNY Tales from Schwartzgarten.

-Osbert the Avenger is the first in a thrilling series of four books, all set in the fictional city of Schwartzgarten

-With shades of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the Tales from Schwartzgarten are as hilarious as they are dark

-This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781408314555
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 251 g
Dimensions: 196 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Fans of Roald Dahl, Chris Priestly and Lemony Snicket will savour every gruesome drop of this stylish, grisly and original comedy. * The Times *
For readers who like their stories darkly comic, in the style of Lemony Snicket... elaborate murders, twists and narrow escapes. * Sunday Times *
Dark and funny in a very horrible way. * Sunday Express *
Utterly absorbing. * The Daily Telegraph *
An idiosyncratic comic fantasy... it is likely that children will be most enthusiastic. * Books For Keeps *
A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. A frightening but appealing anti-hero. * Booktrust *
Bloodthirsty and mysterious with a sharp spike in its tail, Osbert's story is a deliciously dark invitation to the strange world of Schwartzgarten, a city corrupt with shadows and secrets - and in need of a hero. * We Love this Book *
Highly original... gruesome but funny. * parentsintouch.co.uk *
A refreshingly unusual read. * Peters Gazette *
Looks set to be a hugely successful new series. Marvelously detailed. There are three more bloodthirsty and hilarious adventures to come. * School Librarian *
One of those rare books children will happily read aloud to each other, which is one of the highest accolades a story can have. * * * * * * bookbag.co.uk *
A riveting story - a clever mix of humour with some very dark and gruesome moments and a couple of real shocks towards the end. * Primary Times *
If you love your teachers and have never entertained the thought of murdering them in the most diabolically appropriate way, then this book should probably be avoided at all costs. * Lion & Unicorn Books *
Rules are broken in a carnival manner that is deliciously and genuinely thrilling * Books for Keeps *
A gruesomely funny story... a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. * West Briton *
A more deliciously gruesome tale of injury, revenge and murder it would be hard to find. * * * * * * bookbag.co.uk *
Macabre and gruesome and wickedly funny. * Julia Eccleshare, lovereading.co.uk *
Gruesomely funny. This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal. * West Books *
This is a brilliantly written book with fantastic characters. It is a real page-turner, a hilarious read and it will delight boys and girls alike. * EdOntheWeb.com *
A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Edward Gorey will delight in this sinister story. * Booktrust *
This man is darker, funnier and more alive than Roald Dahl. * Dan Patterson, creator of Mock The Week and Whose Line Is It Anyway *
If you like your reading dark and gruesome, then this is the series for you! * Parents in Touch *
Gruesomely funny. * School Librarian *
You want to be caught up in the thrall of delicious deviance and page-turning scandal, go on, get stuck in. * Sarah McIntyre *
A great story with that real gothic sense of macabre... almost pantomime with horror... I laughed all through it. * Nine to Noon Show (Radio New Zealand) *
Christopher William's style is similar to Roald Dahl ... hilarious * The List *

You may also be interested in...

Dog Man 7: For Whom the Ball Rolls
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Matilda
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Five Feet Apart
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
I, Cosmo
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Not My Fault
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Dog Man 5: Lord of the Fleas PB
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
A Pinch of Magic
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback

“Fantastically Chilling”

Chris Riddell's illustration of Osbert on the jacket enticed me into reading this. Riddell's artwork seems to be everywhere at the moment, but his drawings are so amazing and his style perfectly fits... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 58

“Gothic, quirky, and refreshingly unpredictable”

Creepy and gothic, from the get-go this book reads like a cross between Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket.

Osbert lives in the city of Schwartzgarten. He’s a fairly ordinary little boy, except for the fact that he is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 51

“A gruesome book”

This was such a grisly story - I'm squirming just thinking about it! Full of dark tales of murder in the most gruesome and terrifying ways, this book is certainly not for the faint-hearted! It has been... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 38

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.