• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Sword and Scimitar (Paperback)
  • Sword and Scimitar (Paperback)
zoom

Sword and Scimitar (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 25/04/2013
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Check availability At your local shop

'[A] gripping tale of the Great Siege of Malta...Ferocious and compelling it is a story of blood, romance and sacrifice' **** Daily Express

SWORD AND SCIMITAR is the compelling tale of the Great Siege of Malta from Simon Scarrow, bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Conn Iggulden and Robert Harris. 'This lively, absorbing novel will not disappoint' The Sunday Times

1565, Malta: a vital outpost between the divided nations of Europe and the relentlessly expanding Ottoman Empire. Faced with ferocious attack by a vast Turkish fleet, the knights of the Order of St John fear annihilation. Amongst those called to assist is disgraced veteran Sir Thomas Barrett. Loyalty and instinct compel him to put the Order above all other concerns, yet his allegiance is divided. At Queen Elizabeth's command, he must search for a hidden scroll, guarded by the knights, that threatens her reign.

As Sir Thomas confronts the past that cost him his honour and a secret that has long lain buried, a vast enemy army arrives to lay siege to the island...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755358380
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 398 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 37 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'[A] gripping tale of the Great Siege of Malta . . . Ferocious and compelling it is a story of blood, romance and sacrifice. As the people fight for their homeland dark secrets emerge which threaten their survival' **** * Daily Express *
This lively, absorbing novel will not disappoint * The Sunday Times *
Praise for Simon Scarrow's other novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read' * Bernard Cornwell *
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best * Independent *
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff * Good Book Guide *
Gripping and moving * The Times *

You may also be interested in...

Sharpe's Fortress
Added to basket
The Mauritius Command
Added to basket
The Far Side of the World
Added to basket
Deadly Election
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Fortune of War
Added to basket
The Hundred Days
Added to basket
Sharpe's Tiger
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Triumph
Added to basket
Wounds of Honour: Empire I
Added to basket
The Letter of Marque
Added to basket
The Thirteen-Gun Salute
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Thunder of the Gods: Empire VIII
Added to basket
Son of the Night
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A ripping yarn!”

More swashbuckling from Simon Scarrow. This one -off novel has it all - a knight who's lost his faith, a search for a vital secret, a three way love triangle, all set against the seige of Malta. Well researched... More

Hardback edition
6th December 2012
Helpful? Upvote 41

“Loved it!”

Simon Scarrow brings the seige of Malta to life in this exciting page turner. He makes you feel as though you are there fighting the Turks with the whole of Christendom at risk over a secret scroll that can't be... More

Paperback edition
14th May 2013
Helpful? Upvote 31

“Disappointing”

Having read and enjoyed all of Simon Scarrow’s Cato and Macro Roman Legion books, I was looking forward to reading his latest book.
Thomas Barrett, a knight, was banished from Malta twenty years before the siege of... More

Hardback edition
7th May 2013
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.