Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Sweet Black Waves - Sweet Black Waves 1 (Paperback)
  • Sweet Black Waves - Sweet Black Waves 1 (Paperback)
zoom

Sweet Black Waves - Sweet Black Waves 1 (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 464 Pages / Published: 16/09/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this lush young adult fantasy about warring countries and forbidden romance will have readers entranced. As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow, will set Branwen against her best friend and the only man she's ever loved. Kristina Perez's debut features star-crossed lovers who changed the fate of two nations. Inspired by the legend of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend's true heroine: Branwen. An Imprint Book Praise for Sweet Black Waves "The female characters are vivid, powerful, and passionate. . .a thrilling roller coaster." --Kirkus Reviews "Set sail on a swashbuckling adventure that is lush with magic, pirates, bravery, kingdoms, love, and faith. . .Give to fans of Kristin Cashore's Graceling and Jessica Leake's Beyond a Darkened Shore." --School Library Journal

Publisher: St Martin's Press
ISBN: 9781250309075
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 208 x 135 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Star-crossed love, tested loyalties, and magic that binds and burns--Sweet Black Waves gripped me all the way to the shocking ending." --Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere and The Ship Beyond Time "Intense, swoon worthy, and smart." --Vic James, author of Gilded Cage and Tarnished City "An enchanting story of fierce friendship and dangerous love . . . P rez has written a book that whispers the sound of the ocean as you turn each page." --Alice Broadway, author of the Ink Trilogy "Fans of Joan Wolf's Dark Ages of Britain trilogy and Tessa Gratton's The Queens of Innis Lear will enjoy this dreamy tale, which is carried along with vibrant descriptions and intense emotion." --RT Reviews "Closes with a devastating cliff-hanger that will leave readers eager for a sequel." --Publishers Weekly

You may also be interested in...

Isadora Moon Makes Winter Magic
Added to basket
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Mermaid
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Christmasaurus
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
In the Time We Lost
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Subtle Knife
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Amber Spyglass
Added to basket
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Beast of Buckingham Palace
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
£32.00   £27.99
Hardback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket

“Beautiful Arthurian YA fantasy”

SWEET BLACK WAVES is a gorgeous retelling of the tale of Tristan and Eseult, told from the POV of Eseult’s best friend and cousin, Branwen. I didn’t know beforehand that Branwen does actually appear in the story –... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.