Super Fake Love Song (Paperback)
  • Super Fake Love Song (Paperback)
zoom

Super Fake Love Song (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 19/11/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From the bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a contemporary YA rom-com where a case of mistaken identity kicks off a string of (fake) events that just may lead to (real) love.

When Sunny Dae - self-proclaimed total nerd - meets Cirrus Soh, he can't believe how cool and confident she is. So when Cirrus mistakes Sunny's older brother Gray's bedroom - with its collection of electric guitars and rock posters - for Sunny's own, he sort of, kind of, accidentally winds up telling her he's the front man of a rock band.
Before he knows it, Sunny is knee-deep in the lie: He ropes his best friends into his scheme, begging them to form a fake band with him, and starts wearing Gray's rock and roll castoffs. But there's no way can he trick this amazing girl into thinking he's cool, right? Just when Sunny is about to come clean, Cirrus asks to see them play sometime. Gulp.
Now, there's only one thing to do: Fake it till you make it.
Sunny goes all-in on the lie, and pretty soon, the strangest things start happening. People are noticing him in the hallways, and he's going to football games and parties for the first time. He's feeling more confident, in every aspect of his life, and especially with Cirrus, who's started to become not just his dream girl but also the real deal. Sunny is falling in love. He's having fun. He's even becoming a rocker, for real.
But it's only a matter of time before Sunny's house of cards starts tumbling down. As his lies begin to catch up with him, Sunny Dae is forced to wonder whether it was all worth it - and if it's possible to ever truly change.

An inventive new romantic comedy about identity, perception, and how hard it can sometimes feel to simply be yourself.
Praise for Frankly in Love:
A New York Times Bestseller and #1 Indie Bestseller
An Amazon.com Best Book of the Year - 2019
Five Starred Reviews

"Extraordinary . . a beautifully layered novel about first love, tribalism and that brief, magical period when kids have one foot in high school, one foot out the door. . . Yoon explores themes of racism, forgiveness and acceptance without getting earnest or preachy or letting anyone off the hook. And there's a universality to the story that cuts across cultures." -New York Times

"With echoes of John Green and To All the Boys I've Loved Before, it's poised to be the biggest YA debut of the year." -Entertainment Weekly

"Yoon's fresh and nuanced approach to Frank's struggle to navigate cultural tensions amplifies both the vulnerabilities and the strengths that can come with being a child of immigrants. . . Yoon underscores the value of honoring both who you are and where you come from." -TIME Magazine

"Yoon's stellar debut expertly and authentically tackles racism, privilege, and characters who are trying to navigate their Korean-American identity." -BuzzFeed

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
ISBN: 9780241373453
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 255 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A clever, hilarious, and empathetic look at diverse teens exploring authenticity, identities, and code-switching. * Kirkus, STARRED REVIEW *
In a novel filled with excellent writing, strong characterization, and abundant positive messages, perhaps the greatest strength of all is the emotional openness of the male characters...Charming, witty, and inspirational. Highly recommended. * School Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW *
Endearingly winning coming-of-age novel... Yoon challenges stereotypes and tackles the age-old theme of being true to oneself, whether that self is a rock star or a nerd. * Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW *
A worthy read-next for fans of Jenny Han, Nicola Yoon, and David Yoon's Frankly in Love, it's a novel that strikes all the right chords. * BCCB *

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
The Deathless Girls
Added to basket
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
Pages & Co.: Tilly and the Map of Stories
Added to basket
Skulduggery Pleasant
Added to basket
The Christmas Pig
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Demon Dentist
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories
Added to basket
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The School for Good and Evil
Added to basket
Minecraft Guide to Redstone
Added to basket
The Good Thieves
Added to basket
The Girl of Ink & Stars
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
To Be A Cat
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Rooftoppers
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Hilariously funny and insightful rom-com”

Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at his wealthy, white California high school. He is introduced to Cirrus Soh, a very cool, worldly, beautiful... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.