Sunny (Paperback)
  • Sunny (Paperback)
zoom

Sunny (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 09/02/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
'If you've ever felt lonely, overlooked, unappreciated and just "wrong" this is the book for you . . . Very funny, blisteringly honest' Marian Keyes

'I was laughing from the very first page. Sunny is a big, bright novel that radiates energy and warmth just like the title. Sukh is such a fun and exciting new voice in fiction. Give a copy of this book to all your pals!' Emma Gannon

'Bracingly honest, funny and sharp . . . it took me back to reading Bridget Jones's Diary. Fast, irreverent, but relatable' Adele Parks, Platinum

This actually is a love story, just not the one Sunny was looking for . . .

Sunny is the queen of living a double life. To her friends, she's the entertaining, eternally upbeat, single one, always on hand to share hilarious and horrifying date stories. But while they're all settling down with long-term partners and mortgages, Sunny is back in her childhood bedroom at thirty, playing the role of the perfect daughter. She spends her time watching the Sikh channel, making saag and samosey with her mum, hiding gins-in-a-tin in her underwear drawer and sneaking home in the middle of the night after dates, trying but failing to find 'the one'.

She juggles both lives perfectly . . . on the outside, at least. But when her mum sees a guy dropping Sunny home one evening, Sunny's life gets a little complicated. Now her mum wants to know about the life she's hidden from her for so long.

Sunny is well versed in lying to her friends, her family, and, above all, herself. But how long can she keep it up for? Or is it finally time to start being honest?

SUNNY by Sukh Ojla is a relatable, moving, and life-affirming novel. It is warm and full of honesty, exploring family, love and mental health. Perfect for fans of Grown Ups by Marian Keyes and Olive by Emma Gannon.

'Hilarious and heartbreaking, enlightening and important . . . EVERYONE needs to read this book!' Helly Acton, author of The Shelf

'I absolutely loved Sunny! . . . A riveting rollercoaster of a read!' Heidi Swain, the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Taste of Home

'A triumph. Everyone should read Sunny. It's a funny, moving and important novel, and I loved every word' Stephanie Butland, author of Lost For Words

Readers have fallen in love with SUNNY:

'The best thing since Bridget Jones'

'This is the book everyone needs to read this year'

'She is a riot'

'Sukh Ojla's debut is a witty, fun read and one I heartily recommend'

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529356991
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 258 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

If you've ever felt lonely, overlooked, unappreciated and just "wrong" this is the book for you. Sunny is LOVELY. Very funny, blisteringly honest, VERY sweet on mother-daughter dynamics and ultimately hopeful - Marian Keyes

Much like the title, main character Sunny is a big and bright character bursting with humour - Cosmopolitan

I was laughing from the very first page. Sunny is a big, bright novel that radiates energy and warmth just like the title. Sukh is such a fun and exciting new voice in fiction. Give a copy of this book to all your pals! - Emma Gannon, author of Olive

Bracingly honest, funny and sharp . . . it took me back to reading Bridget Jones's Diary. Fast, irreverent, but relatable - Adele Parks, Platinum

Warm and laugh-out-loud funny with sharp observations on life. Sunny is the modern-day heroine we all want to know - Heat magazine

A human story with a loveable protagonist you want to hug through the pages - Garavi Gujarat

What a gem of a book! So, so funny, warm and relatable - Lizzie Damilola Blackburn, author of Yinka, where is your huzband?

I loved Sunny, the hapless heroine of this heartfelt and hilarious book and I know you will too - Sarra Manning, Red

Sunny by Sukh Ojla has brought me lashings of joy - it's a book that roars. It's properly funny, it broke my heart and made it swell - Daisy Buchanan

You may also be interested in...

The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Black Bird Oracle
Added to basket
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Delightful & Amusing”

Sunny Sanghera is a 30-year-old Punjabi woman currently living back at home with her parents in Gravesend. Single and still looking for love, Sunny’s life is a massive lie. Maintaining her standing as the dutiful... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Sunny by Sukh Ojla”

Sunny by Sukh Ojla is a story about a young unmarried British Asian woman and how difficult live can be for an unmarried woman in Asian society.
The storyline is about how Sunny struggles with her weight, her job,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2
Lizzie | @littlehux

“A gorgeous novel about finding the person you want to be”

I had the complete joy of picking up Sunny by Sukh Ojla over the weekend. On Sunday evening, I was feeling peckish for the kind of book you can just inhale in one go, and right at the top of my pile was Sunny, which... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: