Living Ethics: Across Media Platforms (Paperback)
  • Living Ethics: Across Media Platforms (Paperback)
zoom

Living Ethics: Across Media Platforms (Paperback)

(author)
£54.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 01/07/2007
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
A thorough, well-researched introduction to media ethics, Living Ethics gives students a clear and cogent look at the foundations and fundamentals of ethics across media platforms. Bugeja addresses both classic and contemporary cases, and gives the reader not only a sense of what to do in a given situation, but how to be. Relentlessly practical, the book calls on students to develop their own, personal codes of ethics to help guide them through dilemmas that will occur in their own lives. In so doing, Bugeja goes beyond the prescriptive approach of many texts, and has created a book that assumes both that students can understand ethics, and also act ethically.

Publisher: Oxford University Press Inc
ISBN: 9780195188608
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 509 g
Dimensions: 233 x 155 x 18 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"This phosphorescent book puts communication ethics on a new order of magnitude. Living Ethics is destined to become a classic in the tradition of Norbert Wiener's Cybernetics, Jacques Ellul's Propaganda, and Jean Baudrillard's Simulations. Brilliant in content and spectacular in research, a master teacher and public intellectual are at work here. Establishing ethics discourse across media platforms is exactly what the field needs in a technological age and we'll never be able to think about ethics in static terms again. With formalism discredited and relativism simplistic, Living Ethics is an ingenious alternative."--Clifford Christians, College of Communications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


"This is an important book--a comprehensive look at media ethics, drawing on vital and pervasive concepts, and blessedly relevant to multiple media venues, not simply publishing, electronic media or digital media. Big ideas about responsibility, fairness, bias, temptation are connected to specific examples, some powerful, some homely, but all useful. This is at once a treatise for serious readers and a text for students and professionals in a world where convergence is not only conceptual, but also part of the lives of people who work across platforms too. A very useful contribution to the literature, building on and greatly amplifying an earlier edition."--Everette E. Dennis, Distinguished Felix E. Larkin Professor of Media & Entertainment Industries, Fordham Graduate School of Business


"Living Ethics is full of wisdom and insight, featuring both the philosophical foundations that underpin ethics and real-life examples about how to apply ethics in our morally converged world. Talk about relevant! Rather than hypotheticals, the book is filled with real stories about plagiarism, graphic video, satire, sexual harassment, photojournalism, and direct quotes. It's the best ethics book in communications."--Paul Parsons, Elon University


"The best thing about this book is that it refuses to accept the old adage about leading a horse to water but not being able to make him drink. This book believes students can be taught both to understand ethics and to act ethically, and then outlines a way to do just that."--Gregory Lisby, Georgia State University


"[Bugeja] wants us to experience how it feels to have a guilty conscience, not just think about it in terms of an abstract philosophical framework. Such an emphasis has a place in the classroom because it calls for personal accountability."--Robin Riley, New Mexico State University


You may also be interested in...

Propaganda
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
Covering Islam
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Selling Hitler
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Manufacturing Consent
Added to basket
Photography: A Very Short Introduction
Added to basket
The Filter Bubble
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Media Studies
Added to basket
£34.99
Paperback
Media Control - Post-9/11 Edition
Added to basket
Dataclysm
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Digital Anthropology
Added to basket
The News
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
A Dictionary of Film Studies
Added to basket
The Media Student's Book
Added to basket
Confessions Of An Advertising Man
Added to basket
The Sex Myth
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.