Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man and Their Journey Across America (Paperback)
  • Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man and Their Journey Across America (Paperback)
zoom

Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man and Their Journey Across America (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 28/06/2018
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other.

Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong side of Portland, Oregon. One rainy night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat and takes her in. Nursing her back to health, he names her Tabor. When winter comes, they travel from Oregon to the beaches of California to the high plains of Montana, surviving blizzards and bears, angry steers and rainstorms. Along the way, people are drawn to the spirited, beautiful cat and moved to help Michael.
Tabor comforts Michael when he's down, giving him someone to love and care for, inspiring him to get sober and come to terms with his past family traumas and grief over the death of his partner. But when Michael takes Tabor to a vet in Montana, he discovers that she has an identification chip and an owner who has never given up hope of finding her. Michael makes the difficult choice to return to Portland to reunite Tabor with her owner and learn to create a new purpose in his life after Tabor.

Strays is the true story of a charismatic, adventurous cat and the healing power of the bonds between humans and animals.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471154652
Number of pages: 272
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 17 mm
Edition: Paperback Original


MEDIA REVIEWS
`This lovely, luminous story will warm your heart, make you laugh and want to share your life with a rescue cat' -- Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, author of The Nine Emotional Lives of Cats
`The story continues to linger in my mind and reminds me that the care of an animal really can motivate and make change possible' -- Claire Bessant, CEO of International Cat Care
`At times heart-wrenching, Strays held me captive, eager, and anxious for little Tabor to find her way back home' -- Barbara Bennett, author of Soul of a Lion
'When a homeless man met a stray feline, it led to an odyssey that changed their lives' * New York Post *
'A tearjerker of a movie waiting to happen' * Bustle (16 best non-fiction reads) *
'Possibly the most beautiful story I've ever read about hope, healing and the human-feline bond' -- Gwen Cooper, author of Homer's Odyssey
'The rock `n' roll cat book' -- Shane MacGowan
'Endearing, beautiful, rich with emotion' * Shelf Awareness *
'Compelling' * The Oregonian *
'Super-riveting' -- Caroline Paul, author of Lost Cat
'Readers of A Street Cat Named Bob will be moved by this healing love story' * Library Journal *
'Must-read book of 2017' * Mochas, Meows & Mysteries *

You may also be interested in...

Complete Cat Care
Added to basket
DK
£7.99
Paperback
Pre-Raphaelite Cats
Added to basket
The Good, The Bad and The Furry
Added to basket
The Cat Lover's Pocket Bible
Added to basket
The Unadulterated Cat
Added to basket
Casper the Commuting Cat
Added to basket
Paw Tracks in the Moonlight
Added to basket
Cat
Added to basket
Cat
£12.95
Paperback
The Cat Encyclopedia
Added to basket
DK
£25.00
Hardback
Artists and Their Cats
Added to basket
Cats Are Weird
Added to basket
£10.99
Hardback
A-Z of Cat Health and First Aid
Added to basket

“Beautiful, tender, compelling”

This is a beautifully written true story of hope and love and how animals change our lives. Sometimes funny, sometimes sad, but compelling and deeply moving. It's truly is the rock ’n' roll cat book, as... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

“Really wonderful book”

I was given this as an early Christmas present, started it reading it and couldn't stop. As a guy, I normally wouldn't read anything described as heartwarming, but this story is so inspiring and special.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Soulful, gritty feel-good story that makes your heart purr”

“The cat was a rainbow in a dark world” — that quote pretty much sums up this stunning true story. Michael, a depressed, drunk homeless man stumbles across a hurt, starving lost cat on a rainy night in Portland. He... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.