Still Lives (Paperback)
  • Still Lives (Paperback)
zoom

Still Lives (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 04/06/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

WINNER OF STYLIST BOOK WARS

A SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB PICK

THE POOL'S BEDTIME BOOK CLUB PICK

SHORTLISTED FOR AMAZON'S BEST MYSTERY/THRILLER OF THE YEAR

A REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB PICK

'Thrilling' Reese Witherspoon

'Addictive' Stylist

'Vibrant' Observer

'Sensational' Guardian

'Elegant' Daily Mail

'Wonderful' Sunday Times

'Compelling' Entertainment Weekly

'Lyrical' Wall Street Journal

'Gripping' Bustle

'Stunning' LA Times

'Smart' Good Housekeeping

'Sophisticated' Grazia

'Ice-pick sharp' Louise Candlish

As the party of the year gets underway, celebrities and patrons pour into the Rocque Museum to see Kim Lord - L.A.'s artist of the moment - stabbed, strangled, shot, and beaten. It's the opening night of 'Still Lives', Kim's new collection of shockingly graphic self-portraits, in which she impersonates the victims of America's most famous homicides, from Nicole Brown Simpson to the Black Dahlia.

Among those gathered is Maggie Richter, a museum editor whose ex, Greg Shaw Ferguson, is in a relationship with Kim. When Kim fails to appear at the party and is declared officially missing, Greg is arrested on suspicion of murder. Suddenly, Maggie finds herself drawn into an investigation of her own, haunted by the thought that Kim has suffered the same terrible fate as the women in her paintings.

'Think a mix of Killing Eve and . . . one of those thrillers that keeps you up till 2am when you've a 6am alarm and you're close to the mark' Stylist

'An up-all-night brain-teaser of a murder mystery. I loved it' Louise Candlish, author of Our House

Perfect for fans of The Girls, Gone Girl and Big Little Lies.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781787479586
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 272 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A thrilling mystery... still keeps us up at night, it's THAT good * Reese Witherspoon *
Vivid, vibrant and thrilling... with an ending every bit as dramatic as the deaths [Kim] Lord has painted * Observer *
Unique, smart and uneasy . . . what captivates us about Still Lives is its feminist undertones, cleverly exploring the way violence against women is used as entertainment, while still providing a tight and addictive read * Stylist *
Smart and sophisticated * Good Housekeeping *
A high-concept literary thriller . . . not only a taut, elegant mystery, but a subtle examination of the way in which American society has become obsessed with the violent deaths of strikingly beautiful women * Daily Mail *
Wonderful... delicate... delightful * Sunday Times *
Sensational . . . not only a satisfying mystery, but also an ambitious, intelligent and often uncomfortable study of gender, violence and art * Guardian *
Frank and incredibly relatable . . . an intriguing, and often disturbing, read * Irish News *
Savvy and lyrical - the perfect beach read * Wall Street Journal *
Sleek, assured writing, ice-pick sharp commentary on the L.A. art world and the media's relationship with female crime victims, plus an up-all-night brain-teaser of a murder mystery. I loved it * Louise Candlish, author of Our House *
[A] smart, opinionated thriller * The Pool *
Sophisticated. An intriguing read * Grazia *
A deeply affecting examination of how our culture fetishizes female victims of crime -it will also have readers feverishly turning pages... a stunning achievement * LA Times *
The fast-paced feminist thriller about the L.A. art world you don't want to miss... An electrifying mystery * Bustle *

Gripping... the smartest, most original page-turner I've read in a long time

* Maggie Shipstead, author of Seating Arrangements *
A taut thriller with a delectable final 100 pages. It reaches an addictive pitch that all books of this ilk aspire to... and she writes a hell of an ending * Los Angeles Review of Books *
Sucks you into a compelling story, before forcing you to contemplate the big, uncomfortable ideas it's considering. It's a fresh choice for Reese's Book Club, to be sure * Entertainment Weekly *
Moody and restless, propelled by a gradually intensifying sense of unease * Buzzfeed *
A whip-smart mystery and a moving meditation on the consumption of female bodies all rolled into one * Kirkus *
A mysterious page turner * Time Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

A Long Night in Paris
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Twisted
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Pieces of Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Stranger Diaries
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Lost Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dark Sacred Night
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Catch-22
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Something in the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Broken Ground
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
All That's Dead
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Codename Villanelle
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback

“Disappointing”

I was disappointed on reading this book. I thought it was a slow starter and dragged a bit.
I thought the story could have given so much more and I did not feel any connection to the characters.
This book was not for... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Intriguing Thriller - not to be missed”

MOMOBOOKDIARY REVIEW

I was drawn to this novel by the fantastic brightly coloured cover and the blurb.  It is also worth noting that this was also Reese Witherspoon's August Hello Sunshine Book Club pick!  It is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“slow burn...”

Thank you to the publishers for the review copy...
This is quite a different read, a bit of a slow burn so don't be in a rush to turn the pages...
Take this read gently and you will find it is worth the time!

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.