Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
State vs Defence: The Battle to Define America's Empire (Hardback)
  • State vs Defence: The Battle to Define America's Empire (Hardback)
zoom

State vs Defence: The Battle to Define America's Empire (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 432 Pages / Published: 02/08/2011
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the tradition of The Wise Men, The Best and the Brightest, Legacy of Ashes, and The Dead Hand, State vs. Defense explores how and why American leaders succumbed to the sirens of militarism, how the republic has been lost to an empire, and how "the military-industrial complex" that Eisenhower so famously forewarned has set us on a stark path of financial peril. About the Author Stephan Glain has been a journalist for twenty years. He spent four years in Hong Kong writing for the local South China Morning Post before joining the Wall Street Journal in 1991 with stints in Seoul, Tel Aviv, and Amman. His book, Mullahs, Merchants, and Militants, was named the best book of 2004 by The Globalist. His articles on US foreign policy, East Asia, and the Arab world have appeared in The New Republic, Atlantic Monthly, The Nation, Financial Times, and Newsweek.

Publisher: Presidio Press
ISBN: 9780307408419
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 739 g
Dimensions: 235 x 155 x 40 mm

You may also be interested in...

Dispatches
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
IWM London Guidebook
Added to basket
£5.00
Paperback
The First World War
Added to basket
The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz
Added to basket
The American Civil War
Added to basket
Stalingrad
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The First World War
Added to basket
The Opium War
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Great War: 1914-1918
Added to basket
The War that Ended Peace
Added to basket
World War One
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
1914-1918
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Berlin
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
First Light
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
D-Day
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.