State, Soul, and Society: The Transformation of Morality and the Modern State (Hardback)
  • State, Soul, and Society: The Transformation of Morality and the Modern State (Hardback)
zoom

State, Soul, and Society: The Transformation of Morality and the Modern State (Hardback)

(author)
£23.99
Hardback 504 Pages / Published: 02/04/2015
  • In stock online
  • Free UK delivery

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Given the complexity of human societies, the idea that a society's moral norms track the stages of its historical development is both controversial and difficult to demonstrate. Yet in The New Morality, Edward Rubin, an eminent scholar of the modern state, offers an ambitious account of how current moral norms are inherently connected to the type of state that currently dominates the developed world. He contends that the moral system of 'self-fulfillment'-the idea that people are entitled to the most pleasurable and meaningful life possible, without unnecessary constraints-that has emerged in the last two centuries parallels the rise of the modern administrate state. The modern state's functions-education, unemployment relief, health, and environmental protection, among others-are designed to support that moral system. However, just as the rise of the administrative state generated tensions as it replaced an older state model, self-fulfillment has created stresses because it has gradually supplanted the pre-existing moral code: the religiously based morality of higher purposes, which demanded that people serve God and king. This moral system tracked the rise of centralizing monarchies in Western Europe, and that system in turn replaced a morality of 'honor,' which dominated in the pre-absolutist era where governmental power was private in orientation and the state was weak. Rubin traces how paired state-moral system models have emerged and withered over time, paying close attention to the stresses that emerge when a new order replaces an existing one. He provides a close analysis of the components of the morality of self-fulfillment, exploring sex, pleasure, friendship, hobbies, careers, voting behavior and public obligations. Our entire system of government, he argues, is bound up in this morality, and its primary purpose is to further it. A sweeping, big-idea book in the vein of Richard Sennett's The Fall of Public Man and David Riesman's The Lonely Crowd, The New Morality promises to reshape our understanding of the ultimate aims of modern politics and society.

Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780199348657
Number of pages: 504
Weight: 768 g
Dimensions: 241 x 162 x 39 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Without doubt, Ed Rubin has written a truly inspirational book that provides lots food for thought and raises important questions. * Rob van Geste, Legal Studies *
Rubin has written an original and provocative book. Indeed, it is safe to say that there is no other account that argues for a "co-causal" link between the separation of the legislature from the executive and relaxation of the strictures against nonmarital sexuality. * June Carbone, Law & Social Inquiry *

You may also be interested in...

The Path
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
So You've Been Publicly Shamed
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Little Book of Ikigai
Added to basket
Wabi Sabi
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Against Empathy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Enlightenment Now
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Road Less Travelled
Added to basket
The Order of Time
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Meditations
Added to basket
£4.99
Paperback
12 Rules for Life
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.00
Hardback
Future Politics
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Poverty Safari
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Happy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Little History of Philosophy
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Lies That Bind
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.