Starling House (Paperback)
  • Starling House (Paperback)
zoom

Starling House (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 448 Pages
Published: 03/10/2024
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

Step into Starling House, if you dare . . . Alix E. Harrow reimagines Beauty and the Beast in this gorgeously modern Gothic fantasy, perfect for fans of V. E. Schwab and Naomi Novik.

This paperback edition includes a bonus short story that reaches beyond the house's gnarly, tangled gates.

‘Alix E. Harrow is an exceptional, undeniable talent‘ - Olivie Blake, author of The Atlas Six

Opal is a lot of things – orphan, high-school dropout, full-time cynic. Most of all, she’s determined to find a better life for her younger brother. One that gets them both out of Eden, a town renowned for bad luck. So when Opal gets the chance to earn a good wage at Starling House, Eden’s very own haunted mansion, she can’t resist.

Her new workplace is uncanny and full of secrets ­­– just like Arthur, its brooding heir. It also feels strangely, dangerously, like something Opal never had: a home. As sinister forces converge on Eden, Opal realizes she might finally have found a reason to stick around. But now she’ll have to fight for it . . .

This is a romantic and spellbinding Gothic fairytale from Hugo, Nebula and Locus Award-shortlisted Alix E. Harrow.

‘Alix E. Harrow’s greatest work yet‘ - Ava Reid, author of A Study in Drowning

‘This book has everything you could possibly want this fall . . . a cursed town, a haunted house, a vivid & eerie setting‘- Reese Witherspoon

**A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick**

Starling House was a No. 6 Sunday Times bestseller w/c 18/11/2023

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529061147
Number of pages: 448
Dimensions: 197 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

This book has everything you could possibly want this fall . . . a cursed town, a haunted house, a vivid and eerie setting – plus, characters willing to risk everything - Reese Witherspoon, Reese’s Book Club October 2023 Pick

Alix E. Harrow is an exceptional, undeniable talent, and Starling House, with its gentle reassurances of the homes we make and the love we deserve, is more than satisfying. It’s pure loveliness in book form - Olivie Blake, author of The Atlas Six

Gorgeous, poignant, and honest – an unforgettable read - Andrea Stewart, author of The Bone Shard Daughter

The gaudy, dark seam between horror and romance. Starling House is Alix E. Harrow’s greatest work yet – if you can survive its slow belly-crawl into hell - Ava Reid, author of Juniper and Thorn

This is gothic fairy tale at its best and truest: dark and romantic, angry and hopeful . . . I loved it - H. G. Parry, author of The Magician's Daughter

This book is as knife-edged and sharp as its protagonist, a rich and strange exploration of home and need and want . . . A smart, spectacular contemporary Gothic - Kat Howard, author of An Unkindness of Magicians

This is one you’re going to love - Glamour Magazine

Starling House will no doubt take its place alongside fiction’s most memorable haunted houses - Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

Harrow’s mash-up of twisted fairy tales and Southern Gothic fiction is a haunting story of longing, lies, and generational curses - Library Journal, Starred Review

Alix E. Harrow is a fantasy author who just does not miss. This magical, heartfelt haunted house tale is no different - Paste Magazine

You may also be interested in...

Shadow of Night
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Bone Crossed
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sisters' Grimoire
Added to basket
Hostage to Pleasure
Added to basket
Dinner with a Vampire
Added to basket
Up From the Grave
Added to basket
Slave to Sensation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Return
Added to basket
Kiss of Snow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Firelight
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Scent Of Magic
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Caressed by Ice
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dark Blood
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Visions of Heat
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Mine to Possess
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Anna

“The perfect Halloween read”

Thank you to BlackCrowPR for sending me an arc in exchange for an honest review.

Starling House is a gothic, atmospheric novel following Opal as she tries to uncover the mystery of Starling House. Why does she dream... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“A Magical Journey”

"Starling House" by Alix E. Harrow is a truly enchanting tale that swept me off my feet from the very first page. This book is an exquisite blend of magic, well-drawn characters, and lyrical prose that... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Not the horror book I was expecting”

Halloween is fast approaching, and I do love to curl up with a good horror when it comes to my October TBR list! Starling House promises a haunted house thriller, as Opal starts a job for the mysterious Arthur... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: