Stand The Storm (Paperback)
  • Stand The Storm (Paperback)
zoom

Stand The Storm (Paperback)

(author)
£11.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 06/08/2009
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Even though former slaves Annie Coats and her son Gabriel have managed to buy their freedom, their lives are still marked by constant struggle and sacrifice - to the extent that Annie secretly recalls her days on the plantation with fondness.
Washington's Georgetown neighbourhood, where they are seeking to build their new lives - with Gabriel, a tailor, producing uniforms for soldiers and fine suits for pompous politicians, and Annie, a seamstress and laundress, catering to the nearby brothels and stately homes - is supposed to be a safe haven, a 'promised land' for former slaves, but is effectively a frontier town, gritty and dangerous, with no laws protecting black people. In fact, the city's own emancipation efforts in 1862 serve only to compromise the family's status, putting Gabriel's three young daughters (each of them born free of free parents) at risk of becoming the property of the family's former master...

Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
ISBN: 9780316007054
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 323 g
Dimensions: 208 x 137 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
.,." 'Stand the Storm' is a powerful story quietly told." -- The Denver Post "Robin Vidimos"
"A gripping novel about a family's heart-wrenching journey out of slavery." Felicia Pride, "Baltimore Sun""
"Clarke again delivers a gripping story and seemingly effortlessly captures the bond between a mother and son and the price of freedom." "Ebony""
"Fans of River, Cross My Heart will instantly recognize the author's poetic sentences and the powerful emotional scenes that leave us breathless." Mika Ono Benedyk, "Essence""
.".. 'Stand the Storm' is a powerful story quietly told." Robin Vidimos, "The Denver Post""
"Almost a decade later, Stand the Storm is a fulfilling follow-up, written with the same restraint and sensitivity that made her earlier novel such a hit." Krista Walton, "Washington City Paper""
"Calling all book clubs! Clarke, whose debut novel, "River, Cross My Heart," was a 1999 Oprah pick, scores again with this Civil War-era saga, set in Washington. She tells the deeply affecting story of a family of freed slaves in an evocative, historically rich book that brings the turbulent period alive. The author neither averts her eye from, nor sugarcoats the truth about, the uphill struggle for dignity in this gritty town. A-" "TIME""
..". 'Stand the Storm' is a powerful story quietly told." Robin Vidimos, "The Denver Post""

You may also be interested in...

Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Sepulchre
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.