Spice Road - The Spice Road Trilogy (Hardback)
  • Spice Road - The Spice Road Trilogy (Hardback)
zoom

Spice Road - The Spice Road Trilogy (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 496 Pages
Published: 24/01/2023
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Precious coveted spices, magical obsession, love and duty all entwine, as the disappearance of Imami’s brother sends her on an incredible adventure in this vibrant new fantasy series set in an Arabian-inspired land.

Whoever controls the Spice, controls the Kingdom itself.

The first book in an epic fantasy series for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal and Elizabeth Lim, set in an Arabian-inspired land.

Raised to protect her nation from the monsters lurking in the sands, seventeen-year-old Imani must fight to find her brother whose betrayal is now their greatest threat. In the hidden desert city of Qalia, secret spice magic awakens the affinities of those who drink the misra tea. With her affinity for iron, seventeen-year-old Imani can wield a dagger like no other - and for that she has gained a reputation as the next greatest Shield, battling djinn, ghouls, and the other monsters spreading across the sands.

But ever since her brother was discovered stealing their nation's coveted spice - a tell-tale sign of magical obsession - and disappeared into the deadly Forbidden Wastes, Imani's reputation has been in tatters. Despite Atheer's betrayal, there isn't a day that goes by that she doesn't grieve him.

Then Imani discovers signs her brother may be alive, and spreading their nation's magic to outsiders. Desperate to find him - and to protect him - she joins the mission sent to hunt him down. Accompanied by Taha, a powerful beastseer, who enthrals and enrages her in equal measure, Imani soon discovers that many secrets lie beyond the Forbidden Wastes - and in her own heart.

Caught between her duty to her nation, and her love for her brother, Imani must decide where her loyalties lie . . . before it is too late.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781399702027
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 748 g
Dimensions: 240 x 160 x 46 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An epic, sand-swept adventure - Ayana Gray, New York Times bestselling author of Beasts of Prey

With an enchanting world of tea magic and desert monsters and a thrilling quest helmed by a girl whose wit is sharper than her blades, Maiya Ibrahim's Spice Road is a fantasy you don't want to miss - Amélie Wen Zhao, author of Blood Heir

Magic-fueled and action packed, Spice Road takes an epic quest and fills it with secrets, scorching betrayals, and a spellbinding magic system. Prepare to sink into the pages and never want to leave - Dana Swift, author of Cast in Firelight

A beautifully written, surprise-filled page-turner - Kirkus, starred review

With vivid world-building and epic action scenes, SPICE ROAD is a gripping fantasy adventure that YA readers are going to love! - Lynette Noni, author of The Prison Healer series

Come, let the mysterious Spice Road sweep you away. Spirited characters, compelling societies, critical subject matter, and a riveting plot all scheme to ensure a soul-stirring journey - London Shah, award-winning author of the Light the Abyss series

A rich, fresh-voiced fantasy, Ibrahim weaves a masterful tale of family and adventure. Readers will devour the pages like a perfectly spiced tea and be left burning for more - Claire M. Andrews, author of the Daughter of Sparta trilogy

Imani's introspective voice, rendered in Ibrahim's lush prose, propels a deliberately plotted adventure populated by magnetic characters. Overflowing with culturally specific details and set in a fictional, Arabian-inspired world, this high-octane adventure maintains a steady clip toward a scintillating conclusion - Publishers Weekly

Spice Road is an intriguing and adventure-filled Arabian-inspired tale that weaves together a fascinating magic system, complex characters and the complicated bonds of family - Culturefly

Spellbinding magic, lush description and whirlwind action define Maiya Ibrahim's YA debut - Shelf Awareness, Starred Review

Maiya Ibrahim packs a lot into her debut YA novel ... Ibrahim effectively communicates the intense, unfiltered emotions of her teenage heroine and crafts a richly detailed world around her - SFX

Step into a brand new world inspired by Arabia in the first novel in a sprawling fantasy series - Stellar

The age of the protagonists inevitably means this book is being marketed as YA. It's certainly an excellent read for a teenager. That said, older readers will find it entirely satisfying as well, particularly those who prefer an absence of explicit 'adult content'. Rest assured that doesn't mean there's any lack of emotional depth - ParSec

You may also be interested in...

Wonka
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Powerless
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Reckless
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Added to basket
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Unravel Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Greenwild: The City Beyond the Sea
Added to basket
The Crimson Moth
Added to basket
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
The End Crowns All
Added to basket
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Millie Slingsby

“Really fantastic worldbuilding - expansive and rich and magical”

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a free eARC in exchange for an honest review!

Really fantastic worldbuilding, for starters - expansive and rich and magical, the author's lyrical... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“This book has perhaps the best setup to a love triangle”

This book has perhaps the best setup to a love triangle after The Infernal Devices.

I usually can’t stand the trope, but when it’s done well, I’m hooked. Granted, I always prefer the why choose road, but if the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Lush, lyrical, compelling!”

Spice Road is a vibrant and lush fantasy with a compelling storyline, complicated and complex characters, and beautifully lyrical prose.

In the elusive land of Qalia, hidden by a perilous path through scorching... More

Hardback edition
8 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: