Sorcerer to the Crown - Sorcerer to the Crown novels (Paperback)
  • Sorcerer to the Crown - Sorcerer to the Crown novels (Paperback)
zoom

Sorcerer to the Crown - Sorcerer to the Crown novels (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 28/07/2016
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Cho’s award-winning debut opens the doors to a wickedly funny universe of magicians, royalty and female supernatural prodigies in Regency London.

Winner of the 2016 British Fantasy Society Award for Best Newcomer

Shortlisted for the 2016 British Fantasy Society Award for Best Novel

Shortlisted for the 2016 Locus First Novel Award

Sorcerer to the Crown is the first in Zen Cho's thrilling magical adventure series, the Sorcerer Royal Trilogy.

In Regency London, Zacharias Wythe is England's first African Sorcerer Royal. He leads the eminent Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers, but a malicious faction seeks to remove him by fair means or foul. Meanwhile, the Society is failing its vital duty - to keep stable the levels of magic within His Majesty's lands. The Fairy Court is blocking its supply, straining England's dangerously declining magical stores. And now the government is demanding to use this scarce resource in its war with France.

Ambitious orphan Prunella Gentleman is desperate to escape the school where she's drudged all her life, and a visit by the beleaguered Sorcerer Royal seems the perfect opportunity. For Prunella has just stumbled upon English magic's greatest discovery in centuries - and she intends to make the most of it.

At his wits' end, the last thing Zachariah needs is a female magical prodigy! But together, they might just change the nature of sorcery, in Britain and beyond.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447299462
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 254 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises - Naomi Novik

Zen Cho’s Sorcerer to the Crown is inventive, dangerous, brilliant, unsettling, and adorable, all at the same time. It shatters as many rules as its characters do. Historical Britain will never be the same again, and I can’t wait for the next book - Courtney Milan

A warm, funny debut novel by a brilliant new talent - Charles Stross

Compulsively readable and wickedly funny, this magical marriage of Jane Austen and P. G. Wodehouse delivers love, laughs, and a thoroughly modern sensibility, and will keep you reading long into the night. I loved it - Lavie Tidhar

Fabulous! If you like Austen or Patrick O'Brian, or magic and humor like Susannah Clarke, or simply a very fun read, you will really, really, enjoy this - Ann Leckie

A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it - Kate Elliott

Sorcerer to the Crown is fast-paced and witty, and should appeal to fans of Mary Robinette Kowal and Gail Carriger - Elizabeth Bear

A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world – it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style - Karen Lord

You may also be interested in...

House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Ink Blood Sister Scribe
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Wind and Truth
Added to basket
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before We Say Goodbye
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi
Added to basket
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
Fire and Blood
Added to basket
Bury Our Bones in the Midnight Soil
Added to basket
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Queen B
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Kvothe1984

“A witty adult fairy tale”

A thoroughly enjoyable story about Zacharias, a black apprentice to the late Sir Stephen Wythe (Sorcerer to the Crown). Zacharias is now expected to fill his boots in an age and society where black people and women... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 91

“Pride & Prejudice with a sprinkling of magic”

This is Regency London where magic exists as is regulated by the Sorcerer Royal and The Royal Society of the Unnatural Philosophers.

Zacharias Wythe is the current Sorcerer Royal, a former slave brought up and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 70

“A clever fantasy that weaves together Waterloo, Wellington and wizardry. ”

Like Susanna Clarke's Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, Zen Cho's début novel is a clever fantasy that weaves together Waterloo, Wellington and wizardry.

In an alternate Regency world, Zacharias Wythe, the... More

Hardback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: