Somewhere Close to Happy (Hardback)
  • Somewhere Close to Happy (Hardback)
zoom

Somewhere Close to Happy (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 13/06/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A wonderfully written, funny and moving debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart... Unforgettable.' - Sunday Times bestselling author, Claire Douglas

'Honest and brave, Somewhere Close to Happy is a thought-provoking, beautifully observed study of love and real life, social issues and mental health' - Jill Mansell

'Lia is one of those rare writers who manage to break your heart and mend it all at once. Somewhere Close to Happy is a gem of a book - funny, touching and true' - Stacey Halls, bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS

Lizzie James is happy.

She has a steady office job (with a steady stream of snacks), has had the same best friend since school, and she sees her family every Thursday night for take-away and trashy TV. Lizzie likes her uncomplicated life.

Then a letter arrives one day from her first love, Roman. A letter dated the day he disappeared, 12 years before. As Lizzie uncovers the secrets of the letter, she discovers what really happened the year her life fell apart - and all avenues lead back to Roman.

Lizzie James thought she was happy, or somewhere close to happy, anyway.
Now she's not so sure.

'A funny and heart-warming story of first loves and the importance of friendship, but also a moving and wise exploration of mental health, childhood, self-discovery and - ultimately - the importance of being brave.' - Sunday Times bestselling author, Gillian McAllister

Perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Mhairi McFarlane and Cecelia Ahern. This is a novel you won't soon forget.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409184140
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 540 g
Dimensions: 236 x 160 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This book is beautiful. The writing is generous and kind and funny. I fell in love with the story and the characters, it made me feel hopeful, and I cried. Lia is such a talented, wonderful writer. -- Hayley Webster
A wonderfully written, funny and moving debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart. I laughed, cried and was completely swept away by Lizzy and Roman's story. Unforgettable. -- Claire Douglas
I thought it was both a funny and heart-warming story... Louis's is a bold, standout voice in the women's fiction genre and Somewhere Close To Happy deserves to be huge. -- Gillian McAllister
I loved it. I want more. It is just exquisitely written. So tender and packed with emotion but also great humour. It deserves to soar. -- Claire Allan
Honest and brave, Somewhere Close to Happy is a thought-provoking, beautifully observed study of love and real life, social issues and mental health -- Jill Mansell
Oh my god, I LOVED Somewhere Close to Happy. It made me cry several times but was also really funny. It is so incredibly good. -- Laura Marshall
Beautiful, raw, emotional, gripping. Roman and Lizzie will burrow into your hearts and never leave. -- Lynsey James
Lia is one of those rare writers who manage to break your heart and mend it all at once. Somewhere Close to Happy is a gem of a book - funny, touching and true -- Stacey Halls

You may also be interested in...

Lethal White
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Never Greener
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Unsheltered
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heads You Win
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The October Man
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Love is Blind
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Bittersweet, warm, funny and smart”

I love this book but then I'm biased :) this is for anyone who loves smart commercial fiction, with issues to get your teeth into - social disparity, mental health issues, poverty and disenfranchisement - and a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Ace”

How exciting to review a book by someone I know. To clarify, I do not actually know Lia but we chat on Twitter - she posts about food, parenting, exhaustion and Bon Jovi and who am I to diss any of that? 

Somewhere... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.