Find your perfect holiday reading
Something to Live For: Signed Edition (Hardback)
  • Something to Live For: Signed Edition (Hardback)
  • Something to Live For: Signed Edition (Hardback)
zoom
Something to Live For: Signed Edition (Hardback)

Something to Live For: Signed Edition (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 27/06/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

By turns touching and funny, Richard Roper’s debut is a poignant, affecting story of the many ways life doesn’t always go to plan. Carrying echoes of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and peopled with winning characters, Something to Live For is bittersweet, tender and unforgettable.

Signed Edition with exclusively designed edges

Sometimes you have to risk everything to find your something...

All Andrew wants is to be normal. He has the perfect wife and 2.4 children waiting at home for him after a long day. At least, that's what he's told people.

The truth is, his life isn't exactly as people think and his little white lie is about to catch up with him.

Because in all Andrew's efforts to fit in, he's forgotten one important thing: how to really live. And maybe, it's about time for him to start.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409194637
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 228 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A sweetly poignant debut.' - The Sunday Express

'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this.' - Clare Mackintosh 

'Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut.' - Gill Hornby 

'The story Roper tells is a charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem.' - Rebecca Thomas, BBC News Online, Best Fiction of 2019 

'Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge!' - Lucy Foley, author of The Hunting Party

'Just finished Something To Live For with tears running down my cheeks. Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming. Some descriptions of loneliness took my breath away. This book deserves to be HUGE.' - Holly Bourne 

'Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it.' - Libby Page, author of The Lido

'Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.' - Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters 

You may also be interested in...

Sweet Sorrow
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Big Sky
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Carer
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Expectation
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Chain
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Warlow Experiment
Added to basket
Pirata
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Machines Like Me
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Joe Country
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Binding
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Why Mummy Doesn't Give a ****!
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Those People
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Stalingrad
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Under Currents
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Live a Little
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback

“Glorious turns of phrase”

Something to Live For is on course to be one of the books of the year and it's definitely going to be on my books of the year list. It's absolutely superb in every way.

Andrew has a very unique job, one... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9
Lesley at Commercial Street Dundee

“Something to Live For”

I loved this book. Laugh out loud funny, sweet and moving. This is the book I'll be recommending to every reader.

Rachel Bridgeman

“A stunning debut that makes you reassess life and death yet is darkly funny and incredibly moving”

If I was to say to you, 'Listen you REALLY must read this book-it's about a man who works for the council, checking the houses of dead people for funds to pay for their state funerals and it's SO... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.