The Testaments out now
Something to Live For: The most uplifting, funny and feel-good novel you need to read this year! (Paperback)
  • Something to Live For: The most uplifting, funny and feel-good novel you need to read this year! (Paperback)
zoom

Something to Live For: The most uplifting, funny and feel-good novel you need to read this year! (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 23/07/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A magnificent read. Tender, funny, compelling' Lucy Foley, bestselling author of The Hunting Party

Sometimes you have to risk everything to find your something...

All Andrew wants is to be normal. He has the perfect wife and 2.4 children waiting at home for him after a long day. At least, that's what he's told people.

The truth is, his life isn't exactly as people think and his little white lie is about to catch up with him.

Because in all Andrew's efforts to fit in, he's forgotten one important thing: how to really live. And maybe, it's about time for him to start.

Your favourite authors have all got Something to Live For...

'Funny, moving and uplifting...I loved it' Libby Page, bestselling author of The Lido

'Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming' Holly Bourne, bestselling author of How Do You Like Me Now?

'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this' Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of Let Me Lie

'I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. What an extraordinary debut' Gill Hornby, bestselling author of The Hive

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409185611
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The story Roper tells is a charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem. -- Rebecca Thomas * BBC NEWS ONLINE, Best Fiction of 2019 *
If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read... We completely fell in love with this funny, uplifting debut. -- Claire Frost * FABULOUS *
I loved this novel with my whole heart. * THE NEW YORK TIMES *
Endearing and delightful. -- Nina Pottell * PRIMA *
This perfect, quirky summer page-turner... a life-affirming debut. -- Sharmaine Lovegrove * SUNDAY TIMES STYLE *
This is a story that gets under your skin - and a must read. -- Natasha Harding * THE SUN *
A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny... an inspiring, life-affirming read. -- Zoe West * WOMAN'S WEEKLY *
Something To Live For is a heart-warming, funny yet poignant debut novel. Exploring loneliness and family breakdown, Richard Roper has created a cast of colourful and weirdly wonderful characters. An uplifting and life-affirming read. -- Anne Cater * DAILY EXPRESS *
Eleanor Oliphant for men -- David Sexton * EVENING STANDARD *
This could almost be the tie-in novel for a Richard Curtis romcom... Something To Live For benefits from the same earnest charm. -- Thomas Barrie * GQ *
Richard Roper's debut is heart-breaking, uplifting, funny and brimming with human kindness. * SUNDAY HERALD *
It's no surprise that TV rights to this funny, tender and all-the-feels book have already been snapped up. -- Sarra Manning * RED *
A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny all at once. * WOMAN'S OWN *
A sweetly poignant debut. -- Eithne Farry * SUNDAY EXPRESS S MAGAZINE *
A poignant but uplifting novel that's related with great compassion and humour. -- Fanny Blake * DAILY MAIL *
Endearing. -- Patricia Nicol * SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE *
A poignant, superbly funny debut novel about love, loneliness and the many ways life doesn't always go to plan. * WATERSTONES *
Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this. * Clare Mackintosh *
Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge! -- Lucy Foley, author of THE HUNTING PARTY
Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut. * Gill Hornby *
Just finished Something To Live For with tears running down my cheeks. Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming. Some descriptions of loneliness took my breath away. This book deserves to be HUGE. * Holly Bourne *
Warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together -- Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of the THE FLATSHARE
Nick Hornby and David Nicholls' quirky love child would write like Richard Roper. Something to Live For is endearing, funny and life-affirming, with a perfect dose of loneliness and human kindness -- Caroline Smailes
Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it. * Libby Page, author of THE LIDO *
Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine * Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters *
A definite contender for my book of the year . . . funny, heartbreaking and cleverly observed -- Claire Frost
A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant! -- Matt Dunn
[An] off-beat and winning debut..., [Something To Live For] earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name. * WALL STREET JOURNAL *
Gentle comedy and these characters' innately kind natures enriches what might have been starkly sad moments... [Roper] admirably tackles a painful subject with goodhearted characters it's easy to root for. * USA TODAY *
Darkly humorous. * ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY *
Roper's delightful debut is as funny as it is touching... This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible. * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY *
Tragic, sweet, and hopeful... This novel will appeal to fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. * BOOKLIST *
Quirky and heartfelt... Andrew's past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections. * KIRKUS REVIEWS *
Life-affirming...moments of hilarity while conveying a message about stepping out of comfort zones * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING *
Richard Roper has crafted a compelling mystery in this clever and uplifting debut... Something to Live For is a story about the problems we encounter as human beings and the connections that save us. -- Sarah Gilmartin * IRISH TIMES *
A beautiful, heart-warming laugh out loud story. * Dinah Jefferies via Twitter *

You may also be interested in...

In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lies Lies Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
The Wall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Glorious turns of phrase”

Something to Live For is on course to be one of the books of the year and it's definitely going to be on my books of the year list. It's absolutely superb in every way.

Andrew has a very unique job, one... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10
Lesley at Commercial Street Dundee

“Something to Live For”

I loved this book. Laugh out loud funny, sweet and moving. This is the book I'll be recommending to every reader.

Rachel Bridgeman

“A stunning debut that makes you reassess life and death yet is darkly funny and incredibly moving”

If I was to say to you, 'Listen you REALLY must read this book-it's about a man who works for the council, checking the houses of dead people for funds to pay for their state funerals and it's SO... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.