Solitaire: A captivating novel of intrigue and survival in wartime Paris (Paperback)
  • Solitaire: A captivating novel of intrigue and survival in wartime Paris (Paperback)
zoom

Solitaire: A captivating novel of intrigue and survival in wartime Paris (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 464 Pages / Published: 18/05/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
TO SAVE HER OWN LIFE, WILL SHE SACRIFICE ANOTHER?

June 1940: the first summer of the war. Berlin is being bombed and nightly blackouts suffocate the city. Then France falls and a shadow descends.

A shadow has fallen over Clara Vine's own life, too. She is an Anglo-German woman in a country that hates England. Then she is summoned to meet the Propaganda minister, Joseph Goebbels, who has decided that Clara should adopt a new role - as his spy.

Much as she dislikes the idea, Clara realises this might be the chance to find an escape route to England. But Goebbels has other ideas and soon Clara is drawn into a web that threatens to destroy her. As everything she holds dear is taken as ransom, she must fight to protect her family - and to survive...

Solitaire delivers brilliantly engrossing wartime fiction for fans of Sadie Jones, Rosie Thomas and Irene Nemirovsky.

Praise for Jane Thynne's Clara Vine novels:
`An absolute cracker of a read...fast-paced and gripping from the start' Sunday Times
`A thoroughly enjoyable read: fast-paced, atmospheric and genuinely suspenseful' Mail on Sunday
`Terrific' Elizabeth Buchan

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471155819
Number of pages: 464
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'The perfect fusion of history, suspense and high romance' * The Times on Black Roses *
'A thoughtful but fast-moving novel' * Reader's Digest on Black Roses *
'This well-researched story unfolds with utterly knuckle-whitening suspense, and it was my favourite escapist read of the year' * Saga Magazine on Black Roses *
'Terrific' -- Elizabeth Buchan * The Sunday Times on Black Roses *
'Jane Thynne's smooth writing, sensitive understanding of the era and sharp observations combine into an excellent historical thriller' -- Jessica Mann * Literary Review on Black Roses *
'Fast-paced and gripping' * The Sunday Times on The Winter Garden *
'A thoroughly enjoyable read: fast-paced, atmospheric and genuinely suspenseful' * Mail on Sunday on The Winter Garden *
'Both historically fascinating and a proper thriller' * Reader's Digest on The Winter Garden *
'An absolute cracker of a read...Thynne expertly maintains the suspense, while evoking the tension of Berlin as the city gathers its strength for war' * The Times on The Winter Garden *
'A thumpingly good read with a strong denouement' * Mail on Sunday on The Winter Garden *
'So convincing one forgets that it is a piece of fiction' * The Lady on The Winter Garden *
'Pre-war Germany's atmosphere of reprehension, terror and Nazi hubris is vividly evoked in a gripping but sad tale' -- Jessica Mann * Literary Review on The Winter Garden *
'A tale of suspense and intrigue...Thynne's grasp of the period is first-class, and she has woven in a tender wartime love story' * Mail on Sunday on A War of Flowers *
'Darkly brooding horror hangs over Germany; an irresistible page-turner packed with historical detail and told from a most unusual perspective' * Kirkus Reviews on Faith and Beauty *
`This is the fourth of the addictive `Clara Vine' novels, set in Berlin on the eve of war. Clara is a half-German British agent with access to the inner circle of Nazi wives. Portraits of women such as Magda Goebbels and Eva Braun are ruthlessly truthful, but drawn with compassion. It is early 1939, and Clara is drawn into investigating the murder of a girl at the League of Faith and Beauty finishing school. Brilliant' * Saga magazine on Faith and Beauty *

You may also be interested in...

The White Princess
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Demelza
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
TripFiction

“WW2 - novel set mainly in Berlin”

This is the first book I have read by Jane, and it won’t be the last. The meticulous research and extremely polished writing skills combine to make this a very readable novel. Set at the heart of the Nazi elite,... More

Paperback edition
11th December 2017
Helpful? Upvote 12
Whispering Stories

“Wonderfully mesmerising book”

lthough this book is the fifth book in the Clara Vine series, it was the first book that I had read. Now, judging by the fact that I didn’t even realise that it was book five, that should let you know that it works... More

Paperback edition
21st December 2017
Helpful? Upvote 8

“A jewel of a novel”

This atmospheric thriller vividly conjures up the claustrophobia and paranoia in which ordinary civilians found themselves living in Germany during the early part of WWII. Clara Vine is an engaging heroine,... More

Paperback edition
7 similar books recommended
2nd June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.