Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Solar Poems (Paperback)
  • Solar Poems (Paperback)
zoom

Solar Poems (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£13.99
Paperback 280 Pages / Published: 18/03/2010
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
A book of cosmological surrealism in the tradition of Octavio Paz, Solar Poems is the first English translation of a single volume of poems by Mexico's famed poet-diplomat Homero Aridjis, exploring political consciousness as well as visionary psychological themes. President emeritus of International PEN, the prolific poet is Mexico's ambassador to UNESCO. Poemas solares (Solar Poems) was published in 2005. Translator George McWhirter won the Commonwealth Poetry Prize for Catalan Poems, the F.R. Scott Prize for Selected Poems of Jose Emilio Pacheco, and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize for his novel Cage. He is Vancouver's first Poet Laureate. "Homero Aridjis is a profoundly ecological poet who has put his fame and time where his principles are, fighting to save the monarch butterflies that winter by the billions in the mountains of his native Michoacan, the sea turtle that lays her eggs on Caribbean beaches, and the gray whale that calves in the lagoons of Baja California. Aridjis writes to the point, with an open eye and a sense of humor ..." --John Oliver Simon, Poetry Flash

Publisher: City Lights Books
ISBN: 9780872865044
Number of pages: 280
Weight: 327 g
Dimensions: 210 x 134 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

Beowulf
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Iliad
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
You Made Me Late Again!
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The War Poems Of Wilfred Owen
Added to basket
Selected Poems
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Prophet
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Ariel
Added to basket
£10.99   £7.99
Hardback
Wilfred Owen
Added to basket
£10.00
Hardback
Leonard Cohen Poems
Added to basket
£10.99   £7.99
Hardback
Love Sonnets of Shakespeare
Added to basket
Hold Your Own
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Canterbury Tales
Added to basket
The Waste Land and Other Poems
Added to basket
£10.99   £7.49
Paperback
Collected Poems
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Paperback
The War Poems
Added to basket
£10.00
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.