Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
zoom
Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback) Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback Published: 13/05/2021
  • Sold out

We don't expect to receive further stock

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Sally Rooney, Nealon’s spiky yet compassionate debut charts the progress of a rural Irish girl enrolling at Trinity College, Dublin and deftly examines how our childhood experiences are ingrained upon our character.

Signed Exclusive Edition - a standard edition is available here

Eighteen-year-old Debbie White lives on a dairy farm with her mother, Maeve, and her uncle, Billy. Billy sleeps out in a caravan in the garden with a bottle of whiskey and the stars overhead for company. Maeve spends her days recording her dreams, which she believes to be prophecies.

This world is Debbie's normal, but she is about to step into life as a student at Trinity College in Dublin. As she navigates between sophisticated new friends and the family bubble, things begin to unravel. Maeve's eccentricity tilts into something darker, while Billy's drinking gets worse.

Debbie struggles to cope with the weirdest, most difficult parts of herself, her family and her small life. But the fierce love of the White family is never in doubt, and Debbie discovers that even the oddest of families are places of safety.

A startling, honest, laugh and cry novel about growing up and leaving home, only to find that you've taken it with you, Snowflake is a novel for a generation, and for everyone who's taken those first, terrifying steps towards adulthood.

Publisher: Manilla
ISBN: 9781786581105
Weight: 629 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Snowflake is a beautiful novel; tender, laugh-out-loud funny, and deeply moving' - Louise O'Neill 

'An astonishing achievement. Louise Nealon is ridiculously talented; already I'm greedy for more' - Stacey Halls 

'Mad and wonderful. I thought I was reading one thing, then discovered - several times as I read - that I was reading a different, even better thing' - Roddy Doyle 

'GAS and beautiful and truthful and touching' - Marian Keyes 

'An incredibly ambitious debut, beautifully written' - Sam Baker 

'A novel for anyone who's ever felt lost in the world, Louise Nealon balances humour and tragedy in a sharp debut' - John Boyne 

'It's a long time since I've loved a novel as much as Snowflake. The prose shines with observations about life love family mental health, milking the cows and what it means to be coming of age in the times we live in - I felt I had discovered a diamond - a real treasure!' - Christy Lefteri 

'Can a young woman be innocent yet outrageous, longing to succeed at university yet close to failing, deeply embarrassed by her manic depressive mother yet devoted? Yes, yes, yes. Louise Nealon's beguiling narrator Debbie is all these things, and much more. Snowflake is a wonderfully inventive, deeply felt novel full of the best kinds of surprises.' - Margot Livesey 

'Nealon balances humour and devastation well in this relatable novel.' - Irish Examiner

You may also be interested in...

Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Heatwave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Lincoln Highway
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Daisy Jones and The Six
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Spanish Love Deception
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Beautiful and Raw”

A beautiful and raw depiction of mental health and growing into your own self. Snowflake was an absolute joy to read. I was immediately invested in Debbie's life, intrigued by her cosmic mother and enamored with... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“A promising debut”

Thanks so much to Bonnier for letting me read Snowflake in advance. This is a story about eighteen-year-old Debbie, who lives on a dairy farm an hour away from Dublin, with her uncle Billy and her mum Maeve.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“An amazing debut”

Wow. This book was just phenomenal. In all honesty, at first I thought this book would just be another run of the mill, first person female narrative following the trials and tribulations of a young woman which have... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.