Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
zoom
Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback) Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

Snowflake: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 13/05/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Sally Rooney, Nealon’s spiky yet compassionate debut charts the progress of a rural Irish girl enrolling at Trinity College, Dublin and deftly examines how our childhood experiences are ingrained upon our character.

Signed Exclusive Edition - a standard edition is available here

Eighteen-year-old Debbie White lives on a dairy farm with her mother, Maeve, and her uncle, Billy. Billy sleeps out in a caravan in the garden with a bottle of whiskey and the stars overhead for company. Maeve spends her days recording her dreams, which she believes to be prophecies.

This world is Debbie's normal, but she is about to step into life as a student at Trinity College in Dublin. As she navigates between sophisticated new friends and the family bubble, things begin to unravel. Maeve's eccentricity tilts into something darker, while Billy's drinking gets worse.

Debbie struggles to cope with the weirdest, most difficult parts of herself, her family and her small life. But the fierce love of the White family is never in doubt, and Debbie discovers that even the oddest of families are places of safety.

A startling, honest, laugh and cry novel about growing up and leaving home, only to find that you've taken it with you, Snowflake is a novel for a generation, and for everyone who's taken those first, terrifying steps towards adulthood.

Publisher: Manilla
ISBN: 9781786581105
Number of pages: 304
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Snowflake is a beautiful novel; tender, laugh-out-loud funny, and deeply moving' - Louise O'Neill 

'An astonishing achievement. Louise Nealon is ridiculously talented; already I'm greedy for more' - Stacey Halls 

'Mad and wonderful. I thought I was reading one thing, then discovered - several times as I read - that I was reading a different, even better thing' - Roddy Doyle 

'GAS and beautiful and truthful and touching' - Marian Keyes 

'An incredibly ambitious debut, beautifully written' - Sam Baker 

'A novel for anyone who's ever felt lost in the world, Louise Nealon balances humour and tragedy in a sharp debut' - John Boyne 

'It's a long time since I've loved a novel as much as Snowflake. The prose shines with observations about life love family mental health, milking the cows and what it means to be coming of age in the times we live in - I felt I had discovered a diamond - a real treasure!' - Christy Lefteri 

'Can a young woman be innocent yet outrageous, longing to succeed at university yet close to failing, deeply embarrassed by her manic depressive mother yet devoted? Yes, yes, yes. Louise Nealon's beguiling narrator Debbie is all these things, and much more. Snowflake is a wonderfully inventive, deeply felt novel full of the best kinds of surprises.' - Margot Livesey 

'Nealon balances humour and devastation well in this relatable novel.' - Irish Examiner

You may also be interested in...

The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Writers & Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Such a Fun Age
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd.
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl Who Reads on the Metro
Added to basket
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Beautiful and Raw”

A beautiful and raw depiction of mental health and growing into your own self. Snowflake was an absolute joy to read. I was immediately invested in Debbie's life, intrigued by her cosmic mother and enamored with... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.