Snowdon: The Biography (Paperback)
  • Snowdon: The Biography (Paperback)
zoom

Snowdon: The Biography (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 11/06/2009
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'The most sensational book on the Royal Family in recent times' Sunday Telegraph
'Offers a fascinating insight into not just his life but the social mores of the day' Evening Standard

How did a photographer who was a relentless playboy, an unashamed womaniser and a leather-clad motorcyclist marry the Queen's sister and become the Establishment figure Lord Snowdon? The brilliantly talented Antony Armstrong-Jones often humiliated Princess Margaret, yet he was compassionate to the causes he cared about. Since his death in 2017, Snowdon still hasn't escaped the limelight, as more and more is revealed about his wild and intriguing life.

Written with exclusive access to Snowdon and the people closest to him, this book uncovers the real man and his times. Addressing the facts behind the myths - the secret courtship of Margaret, the love child born just weeks after the royal marriage, the affairs on both sides, the suicide of one mistress and the birth of an illegitimate son to another - this balanced yet no-holds-barred account of Snowdon's life is essential reading for fans of The Crown and Ma'am Darling.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9780753825877
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 378 g
Dimensions: 139 x 218 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The most sensational book on the Royal Family in recent times * Sunday Telegraph *
Offers a fascinating insight into not just his life but the social mores of the day * Evening Standard *
An onslaught of revelation, a dizzyingly switchback ride of mixed emotions, pomp and sleaze ... very true to life -- Duncan Fallowell * Daily Telegraph *
How refreshing to read a biography in which the author is half in love with her subject. There are none of the usual patronising putdowns, envious backbiting or mean-spirited cavilling in Anne de Courcy's portrait of the Earl of Snowdon -- Richard Davenport-Hines * Sunday Times *
[A] juicy biography ... it is impossible here to convey the combination of high society and low morals, of firghtfully good taste and awful cheese that de Courcy has managed to dish up * Observer *
Step forward, Snowdon. You're nicked ... Full of eye-popping revelations * Mail on Sunday *
Has anyone not slept with Lord Snowdon? The priapic Earl's multi-layered love life is the dominant theme of this chatty and penetrating biography, packed as it is with love affairs, love-children ... and love-struck mistresses, often several at one time ... Snowdon makes a glamorous, capricious, selfish and surprisingly philanthropic subject for this lively account of a man and his era * Daily Mail Summer Reading *
[A] commendably unvarnished portrait of a charismatic, contradictory individual * Good Book Guide *

You may also be interested in...

The Accidental Spy
Added to basket
Elon Musk
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Adventures Of The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
Kitchen Confidential
Added to basket
A Biker's Life
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Bowl. Sleep. Repeat.
Added to basket
Born Lippy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Gentleman Jack
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Talking with Serial Killers
Added to basket
The Corfu Trilogy
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Surprisingly Down to Earth, and Very Funny
Added to basket
Red Notice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Airhead
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
Escape
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
My Family and Other Animals
Added to basket

“Leaves a little to the imagination!”

I have always had a soft spot for Princess Margaret, so was very interested to read and learn such a great deal about her husband. He seems to me to be a very warm, caring and intelligent man, who expresses himself... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.