Find your perfect holiday reading
Sidney Chambers and The Persistence of Love: Grantchester Mysteries 6 - Grantchester 6 (Hardback)
  • Sidney Chambers and The Persistence of Love: Grantchester Mysteries 6 - Grantchester 6 (Hardback)
zoom

Sidney Chambers and The Persistence of Love: Grantchester Mysteries 6 - Grantchester 6 (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 368 Pages / Published: 04/05/2017
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
The sixth book in the James Runcie's much-loved series, adapted for ITV's Grantchester which stars James Norton as Sidney Chambers. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton. It is May 1971 and the Cambridgeshire countryside is bursting into summer. Archdeacon Sidney Chambers is walking in a bluebell wood with his daughter Anna and their ageing Labrador Byron when they stumble upon a body. Plunged into another murder investigation, Sidney discovers a world of hippies and psychedelic plants, where permissive behaviour seems to hide something darker. This is the first of many disturbing secrets that Sidney unearths beneath the tranquil surface of the diocese: a celebrated photographer is accused of rape; a priceless religious text vanishes from a Cambridge college; the authentication of a lost masterpiece proves a slippery business; and Sidney's own nephew goes missing. Endeavouring to fit in his clerical duties around sleuthing, Sidney continues to reflect on the divine mysteries of love, life and faith, while wrestling with the earthly problems of parish scandals, a progressive new secretary, the challenges of parenthood, and a great loss.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408879023
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 503 g
Dimensions: 216 x 135 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Perfect reading for a sunny English garden -- Kate Saunders * The Times *
There is no denying the winning charm of these artfully fashioned mysteries -- Barry Forshaw * Independent *
Beautifully crafted and surprising -- A. N. Wilson * Spectator *
A perfect accompaniment to a sunny afternoon, a hammock and a glass of Pimm's * Guardian *
Alexander McCall Smith's Mma Ramotswe is going to have to look to her laurels! Sidney Chambers's adventures are thoroughly captivating and engaging -- Amanda Craig, author of Hearts and Minds
No detective since Father Brown has been more engaging than Canon Sidney Chambers. Perfect company in bed -- Salley Vickers
There is no reason at all why this series should not run and run and why Sidney Chambers should not occupy the same place in the pantheon as Miss Marple or Poirot * Catholic Herald *
As a writer unafraid to delve into the human predicament, James Runcie is pitching triumphantly above the parapet of conventional crime -- Barry Turner * Daily Mail *

You may also be interested in...

Long Road to Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man With No Face
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Holiday
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Last
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Rumour
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Taking of Annie Thorne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The President is Missing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Keeper
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Outsider
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Run Away
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secretary
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A more human Sidney Chambers?”

This is number six in a long running series concerning the Reverend Sidney Chambers, ex Vicar of Grantchester, current Archdeacon in Ely. These are the books on which the television series “Grantchester” is loosely... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.