Sibelius: 1865-1905 Volume 1 (Paperback)
  • Sibelius: 1865-1905 Volume 1 (Paperback)

Sibelius: 1865-1905 Volume 1 (Paperback)

Paperback Published: 11/12/2008
  • In stock
  • Free UK delivery

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
Erik Tawaststjerna embarked on his authoritative study of Sibelius in 1960, and it occupied him for over a quarter of a century. His book differs from other work on the composer in one important respect: he had unrestricted access to the composer's papers, diaries and letters as well as the advantage of numerous conversations with the composer's widow and other members of the family. Thus his researches can justifiably claim to have thrown entirely fresh light on the great Finnish composer. Far from the remote personality of the Sibelius legend, Sibelius emerges as a highly colourful figure. Translated by Robert Layton, himself a Sibelius specialist, this first volume (the first of three) takes us up to the period of the "Second Symphony" and the "Violin Concerto", with perceptive and searching studies of the music including a number of early works, "The Burning of the Boat", the "Kullervo Symphony" and the two versions of "En Saga". 'A remarkable and deeply impressive book. The English text unquestionably succeeds in giving a subtle and scholarly rendering of a profound study of Sibelius and his music' - "Economist".

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571247721

You may also be interested in...

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?

Review us on Trustpilot