Find your perfect holiday reading
Shtum (Hardback)
  • Shtum (Hardback)
zoom

Shtum (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 07/04/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
A must-read for fans of David Nicholls, THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME. Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son, Jonah, has never spoken. So when Ben and Jonah are forced to move in with Ben's elderly father, three generations of men - one who can't talk; two who won't - are thrown together. As Ben battles single fatherhood, a string of well-meaning social workers and his own demons, he learns some difficult home truths. Jonah, blissful in his ignorance, becomes the prism through which all the complicated strands of personal identity, family history and misunderstanding are finally untangled. Funny and heart-breaking in equal measure, Shtum is a story about families, forgiveness and finding a light in the darkest days.

"The ending tears the heart out; this is an unforgetable first novel" - The Times

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409166511
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 516 g
Dimensions: 230 x 157 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for the heartwarming novel of 2017:
Jem Lester writes so beautifully, it feels as if you're eavesdropping on a conversation. Shtum is a book with true heart and soul, and I loved every word

-- Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP
A darker, sadder version of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, but just as moving * OBSERVER *
Angry and fiercely funny . . . The ending tears the heart out; this is an unforgettable first novel * THE TIMES *
This is the literary territory of Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby, infused with the Jewish humour of Howard Jacobson and Shalom Auslander . . . an impressive novel that gives a very accurate portrayal of the struggles some families of autistic children endure, while taking the reader on an exhilarating roller coaster ride between pathos, comedy and anger * GUARDIAN *
Moving and, at times, painfully sad, Lester's account is also darkly funny. It is an important reminder of the complex spectrum of human emotion, and a profound insight into an often misunderstood disorder * STYLIST *
'SHTUM is a thought-provoking novel about the silent ties between generations, with a wonderful child character at its heart. I loved Jonah and ached for the impossible decisions his family had to face' -- Julie Cohen
Highly intelligent, warm-hearted and clearly based on experience * THE SUNDAY TIMES *
Powerful, unapologetic and deeply moving, Jem Lester mines a hard-hitting story to discover dark humour and surprising warmth. It's a book that breaks your heart but ultimately uplifts. A simply stunning novel -- Miranda Dickinson
A tale of family, loss, self-discovery and forgiveness. Prepare to be moved by its beauty * HEAT MAGAZINE *
Warm, funny and sad * DAILY EXPRESS *
Funny yet heart-breaking, the book is likely to be enjoyed by fans of The Rosie Project and The Shock of the Fall * INDEPENDENT *
Jem Lester manages to capture a difficult and often heart-wrenching story of a family coping with an autistic son, writing with a fast pace and levity that somehow doesn't lessen any of the emotion of this wonderful novel. A must for your reading list * GRAZIA *
With shades of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time this former journalist's debut is informed by his own experiences with his non-verbal autistic son * BIG ISSUE *
A book that has you laughing one minute and is breaking your heart the next. * WOMAN AND HOME *
An emotive, button-pushing read that should come with a packet of tissues * RED MAGAZINE *
'[Lester] tells a memorable story full of dark humour and heart twistingly sad insight, about the bond between fathers and sons' * SUNDAY MIRROR *
[Lester carries] off this challenging storyline with spectacular success. There are some very sad moments, but far more that are blackly funny. Lester is superb at comic cameo, and the local authority jobsworths with whom Ben must deal are hilariously drawn. But it is Georg, Ben's severe and loving father, who is the novel's towering achievement; a complex man whose tragic past illuminates the present * DAILY MAIL *
Bleak, candid, funny and touching, this impressively impassioned debut novel reveals how a lack of words does not signify a lack of love * SUNDAY EXPRESS MAGAZINE *
Drawing on his own experience of raising an autistic child, Jem Lester has made this a frank and warm portrait of three men bumbling through life * INDEPENDENT *
'At its heart are the things they need to say to each other but often keep "shtum" about - and the child who says nothing, but communicates his needs eloquently' * FINANCIAL TIMES *
Shtum is a novel of compassionate understanding, and it is absorbing from start to finish. -- Ian Thomson * TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT *
Gritty, heart-breaking and wonderful all at once. -- Natasha Harding * THE SUN *
Prepare for an unsweetened heart-shredder of a novel, as raw as it is real. -- Madeleine Kingsley * JEWISH CHRONICLE *
Heart-wrenching and thought-provoking story of a family coping with an autistic child. -- Fanny Blake * WOMAN & HOME *
This touching novel tells the story of Jonah, a 10-year old boy who can't speak. * NOW MAGAZINE *
Lester's unusual book conveys a profound message about the whole spectrum of humanity... a thought-provoking and moving read. -- Helena Gumley-Mason * THE LADY *
It's the territory of Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby, infused with the Jewish humour of Howard Jacobson and Shalom Auslander. This impressive novel leads the reader through pathos, comedy and anger. * GUARDIAN *
Whether you think Shtum is a novel about autism or about marriage (it's both, by the way), you will agree that it is, in the end, a love story infused with wit, charm, and a deep appreciation for the complex beauty of damaged souls. * Jonathan Tropper, author of THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU *
A dazzling debut. * DAILY MAIL *

You may also be interested in...

The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
When All is Said
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Unsheltered
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
I Owe You One
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Never Greener
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sweet Sorrow
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Not just a book about autism”

How refreshing to read a novel in which the character with autism is not at the high functioning end of of the autistic spectrum! Having worked with people like Jonah who have no verbal communication skills , I think... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 56

“A Real Jem”

Upon receiving a much sought after proof copy of the novel, I was well aware of the 'hype' surrounding it pre-publication, and so I went into it with high expectations, unsure if they could be matched upon... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 51

“An absolute delight to read”

This book is essential reading for anyone who is affected by autism, and even more so for those wishing to educate themselves about living with the condition. As a mother of two children on the spectrum I laughed,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 47

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.