Shiver (Paperback)
  • Shiver (Paperback)
zoom

Shiver (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 28/10/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A truly gripping chiller of a thriller. Sensational ' PETER JAMES
'A white-knuckle-ride through a dangerous world full of deadly ambition' ERIN KELLY
'A knife-sharp locked room mystery' HARRIET TYCE
'An exciting, twisty page-turner that will keep you guessing all the way to the end' C.L. TAYLOR

READ THE MOST EXHILARATING THRILLER OF THE YEAR

They don't know what I did. And I intend to keep it that way.


How far would you go to win? Hyper-competitive people, mind games and a dangerous natural environment combine to make the must-read thriller of the year. Fans of Lucy Foley and Lisa Jewell will be gripped by spectacular debut novel Shiver.

When Milla is invited to a reunion in the French Alps resort that saw the peak of her snowboarding career, she drops everything to go. While she would rather forget the events of that winter, the invitation comes from Curtis, the one person she can't seem to let go.

The five friends haven't seen each other for ten years, since the disappearance of the beautiful and enigmatic Saskia. But when an icebreaker game turns menacing, they realise they don't know who has really gathered them there and how far they will go to find the truth.

In a deserted lodge high up a mountain, the secrets of the past are about to come to light.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472270252
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Shiver is a tour-de-force, a truly gripping chiller of a thriller, genuinely impossible to put down and a sensational debut -- Peter James
A white-knuckle-ride through a dangerous world full of deadly ambition -- Erin Kelly
A deliciously dark locked room mystery about competitive snowboarders who find themselves stranded at the top of a snowy mountain. Throw in a dead woman, shameful secrets, years of resentment and someone out for revenge and you have an exciting, twisty page-turner that keeps you guessing all the way to the end -- C. L. Taylor
In Shiver, Allie Reynolds manages to combine the excitement of a clever, compelling story with all the thrills of competitive snowboarding. I loved it. -- Rachel Abbott
An intriguing, intelligent, imaginative and immersive thriller. I have run out of adjectives. This debut is going to be huge -- Mari Hannah
Exhilarating. A brilliant combination of knife-sharp locked room mystery with a will they/won't storyline. So cleverly done - I felt like I was there -- Harriet Tyce
An absolutely gripping read and genuinely unputdownable. I also loved the insight into the competitive snowboarding world. I found it really fresh, thrilling and original with complex, believable characters. -- Karen Hamilton
Absolutely superb. I loved the claustrophobic setting, the cast of characters and the mysterious past. It was paced beautifully and I flew through it in one cold, creepy weekend. It's an astonishingly accomplished debut and I can't wait to see what's next from Allie -- Jo Spain
I found it such a chilling read - it was gripping from the off and really kept me guessing. A fantastic, thrilling debut full of atmospheric twists and turns - I can't wait for her next book! -- Sarah Pearse
Buckle up - this chilling thriller will have you feeling like you're hurtling down a black run. An unforgettable debut * Woman & Home *
This stunning debut, set against an original and very cool snowboarding backdrop, will chill you to the bone. A twisted, haunting, nail-biting journey through a terrifying weekend... I could not put this book down -- Samantha M. Bailey
A sharp, keep-you-guessing mystery * Platinum *
Shiver sent chills up my spine! This taut and twisty thriller follows five former snowboarding champions trapped in a deserted ski resort, each hiding dark secrets about their shared past that pit them against one another. Cancel all your plans because once you pick up this page turner, you won't be able to put it down until you've reached its shocking conclusion! -- Katherine St John
A high-velocity heart-in-your-mouth whodunnit that delivers not just twists and turns but McTwists and aerial spins, SHIVER is a total joy to read - and the closest you'll get to throwing yourself down a black run without actually leaving the house. I absolutely loved it. Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware -- Anna Downes
A thrilling ride ***** * Crime Monthly *
Every character is a suspect in this cleverly plotted page-turner. Reynolds' writing is so atmospheric; I could feel the snow in my eyes, the wind on my face! All hail the chiller thriller -- Stephanie Wrobel
Tense and chilling, this fast-paced, wild ride of a thriller had me turning the pages until late in the night -- Ann Gosslin
Brilliantly atmospheric and tense - will keep you guessing to the very end -- Catherine Cooper
Could not turn the pages of this book fast enough to find out what had happened. Gripping! * Natasha Lester, author of The Paris Secret *
a nail-biting, wintry thriller * Daily Mail *
Chilling in every way: the atmosphere is so evocatively written * Woman's Way *
A new and immersive take on a classic locked-room murder mystery, Shiver is hugely enjoyable and will keep readers guessing until the end. The perfect thriller for a cold winter's night * S Magazine *
This chiller-thriller combines the world of competitive snowboarding with murder to create a book you won't be able to put down * Fabulous Magazine *
A brilliant chiller from a former snowboarding championship contender * Saga *
A gripping puzzle * Peterborough Evening Telegraph *
Deftly plotted and gripping * The Herald *
A thoroughly compelling and deliciously twisty thriller with a terrific atmosphere. I flew through it -- B P Walter
A hugely enjoyable locked-room mystery that will keep readers guessing until the end, it's the perfect thriller for a cold winter's night * S Magazine, Sunday Express *
Buckle up - this chilling new thriller from professional snowboarder-turned-author Allie Reynolds will have you feeling like you're hurtling down a black run from page one . . . For sheer page-turning power, this mystery had us gripped * Woman & Home *

You may also be interested in...

A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dead Man's Grave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Unsettled Ground
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Both of You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Sooley
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Devil's Advocate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sanatorium
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Tense, thrilling and genuinely chilling”

Shiver is the second book I've read this year that is set on the snowy mountains and it's really whetted my appetite for more of this kind of book. The setting is so menacing, so liable to turn at a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24
Nicole @hemelwstones

“A Chilling Reunion Will Have You Watching Your Back All The Way To The End Of The Slope.”

I got taken back to my days playing SSX Tricky on the PS4 whilst reading Shiver.
However in this edgy thriller we find out what happened all those years ago on the mountain when the group of friends lives changed... More

Hardback edition
8 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 22
Barnsey's Books

“One heck of a debut novel!”

Oh my goodness, Shiver is an amazing debut novel! I adore locked-room thrillers and wintery settings so this book was a definite must-read for me.

Five friends, all former competitive snowboarders, gather in the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.