Shiver (Hardback)
  • Shiver (Hardback)
zoom

Shiver (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 432 Pages / Published: 21/01/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Mind games, deadly ambitions and unforgiven pieces of the past mount to a terrible climax when five old friends gather for a reunion in a deserted lodge in the French Alps.

They don't know what I did. And I intend to keep it that way.

How far would you go to win? Hyper-competitive people, mind games and a dangerous natural environment combine to make the must-read thriller of the year. Fans of Lucy Foley and Lisa Jewell will be gripped by spectacular debut novel Shiver.

When Milla is invited to a reunion in the French Alps resort that saw the peak of her snowboarding career, she drops everything to go. While she would rather forget the events of that winter, the invitation comes from Curtis, the one person she can't seem to let go.

The five friends haven't seen each other for ten years, since the disappearance of the beautiful and enigmatic Saskia. But when an icebreaker game turns menacing, they realise they don't know who has really gathered them there and how far they will go to find the truth.

In a deserted lodge high up a mountain, the secrets of the past are about to come to light.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472270245
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 640 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Shiver is a tour-de-force, a truly gripping chiller of a thriller, genuinely impossible to put down and a sensational debut.' - Peter James

'A white-knuckle-ride through a dangerous world full of deadly ambition.' - Erin Kelly

'A deliciously dark locked room mystery about competitive snowboarders who find themselves stranded at the top of a snowy mountain. Throw in a dead woman, shameful secrets, years of resentment and someone out for revenge and you have an exciting, twisty page-turner that keeps you guessing all the way to the end.' - C. L. Taylor

'In Shiver, Allie Reynolds manages to combine the excitement of a clever, compelling story with all the thrills of competitive snowboarding. I loved it.' - Rachel Abbott

'An intriguing, intelligent, imaginative and immersive thriller. I have run out of adjectives. This debut is going to be huge.' - Mari Hannah

'Exhilarating. A brilliant combination of knife-sharp locked room mystery with a will they/won't storyline. So cleverly done - I felt like I was there.' - Harriet Tyce

'An absolutely gripping read and genuinely unputdownable. I also loved the insight into the competitive snowboarding world. I found it really fresh, thrilling and original with complex, believable characters.' - Karen Hamilton

'Absolutely superb. I loved the claustrophobic setting, the cast of characters and the mysterious past. It was paced beautifully and I flew through it in one cold, creepy weekend. It's an astonishingly accomplished debut and I can't wait to see what's next from Allie.' - Jo Spain

'This stunning debut, set against an original and very cool snowboarding backdrop, will chill you to the bone. A twisted, haunting, nail-biting journey through a terrifying weekend... I could not put this book down.' - Samantha M. Bailey

'Shiver sent chills up my spine! This taut and twisty thriller follows five former snowboarding champions trapped in a deserted ski resort, each hiding dark secrets about their shared past that pit them against one another. Cancel all your plans because once you pick up this page turner, you won't be able to put it down until you've reached its shocking conclusion!' - Katherine St John

'A high-velocity heart-in-your-mouth whodunnit that delivers not just twists and turns but McTwists and aerial spins, SHIVER is a total joy to read - and the closest you'll get to throwing yourself down a black run without actually leaving the house. I absolutely loved it. Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.' - Anna Downes

'Every character is a suspect in this cleverly plotted page-turner. Reynolds' writing is so atmospheric; I could feel the snow in my eyes, the wind on my face! All hail the chiller thriller.' - Stephanie Wrobel

'Tense and chilling, this fast-paced, wild ride of a thriller had me turning the pages until late in the night.' - Ann Gosslin

'Brilliantly atmospheric and tense - will keep you guessing to the very end.' - Catherine Cooper

'Could not turn the pages of this book fast enough to find out what had happened. Gripping!' - Natasha Lester, author of The Paris Secret

You may also be interested in...

The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slough House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Moonflower Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Murder After Christmas
Added to basket
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback

“Tense, thrilling and genuinely chilling”

Shiver is the second book I've read this year that is set on the snowy mountains and it's really whetted my appetite for more of this kind of book. The setting is so menacing, so liable to turn at a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21
Nicole @hemelwstones

“A Chilling Reunion Will Have You Watching Your Back All The Way To The End Of The Slope.”

I got taken back to my days playing SSX Tricky on the PS4 whilst reading Shiver.
However in this edgy thriller we find out what happened all those years ago on the mountain when the group of friends lives changed... More

Hardback edition
8 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 19
Barnsey's Books

“One heck of a debut novel!”

Oh my goodness, Shiver is an amazing debut novel! I adore locked-room thrillers and wintery settings so this book was a definite must-read for me.

Five friends, all former competitive snowboarders, gather in the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.