Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Shepherd of Another Flock: The Charming Tale of a New Vicar in a Yorkshire Country Town (Paperback)
  • Shepherd of Another Flock: The Charming Tale of a New Vicar in a Yorkshire Country Town (Paperback)
zoom

Shepherd of Another Flock: The Charming Tale of a New Vicar in a Yorkshire Country Town (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 08/03/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Shh, new vicar might be listening . . .'

As the newly appointed Vicar of Helmsley, David was looking forward to working in this picturesque market town, set in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside. Admittedly the vicarage, which dated back to the twelfth century, was extremely cold and damp. And not all of his parishioners were impressed by his new-fangled ways. But with the help of the irrepressible Father Bert, a retired cleric and one-time Tail End Charlie, David set about winning over the townsfolk.

There was Lord Feversham, the local landowner who at times bore an unnerving resemblance to Henry VIII; fiery Ted, a retired chef who had fought with the Polish Free Army; Frank the singing shepherd, still working as he approached eighty, and redoubtable countrywoman Eva. All had stories of hardship and sacrifice, friendship and love. Charming and moving, Shepherd of Another Flock is a must-read for fans of authors like Gervase Phinn, James Herriot and Amanda Owen.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509829194
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 258 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The gloriously beguiling saga of a new Reverend overcoming the suspicions of locals in a small Yorkshire town * Daily Mail *
A glorious book * Times Literary Supplement *
Written with all the warmth and gentle humour that we've come to expect from the like of James Herriot and Gervase Phinn * The Press *

You may also be interested in...

A Better Me
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Leon and June: Our Story
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
A Street Cat Named Bob
Added to basket
Elon Musk
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Testament Of Youth
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
In Extremis
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Born Lippy
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
A History of the World in 21 Women
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know
Added to basket
The Little Book of Bob
Added to basket
Bernard Who?
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
On Leopard Rock: A Life of Adventures
Added to basket
Roger Daltrey: Thanks a lot Mr Kibblewhite
Added to basket
Talking with Serial Killers
Added to basket
Cordially Invited
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Diary of a Bookseller
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.