Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
Shelter (Paperback)
  • Shelter (Paperback)
zoom

Shelter (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 06/04/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

You never know what goes on behind closed doors.

Kyung Cho owns a house that he can't afford. Despite his promising career as a tenure-track professor, he and his wife, Gillian, have always lived beyond their means. Now their bad decisions are catching up with them, and Kyung is anxious for his family's future.

A few miles away, his parents, Jin and Mae, live in the town's most exclusive neighbourhood. Growing up, they gave Kyung every possible advantage - expensive hobbies, private tutors - but they never showed him kindness. Kyung can hardly bear to see them now, much less ask for their help. Yet when an act of violence leaves Jin and Mae unable to live on their own, the dynamic suddenly changes, and he decides to take them in. For the first time in years, the Chos find themselves under the same roof where tensions quickly mount and old resentments rise to the surface.

As Shelter veers swiftly towards its startling conclusion, Jung Yun leads us through dark and violent territory, where, unexpectedly, the Chos discover hope. In the tradition of House of Sand and Fog and The Ice Storm, Shelter is a masterfully crafted first novel that asks what it means to provide for one's family and, in answer, delivers a story as riveting as it is profound.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509810529
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 244 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 21 mm

You may also be interested in...

Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Last Letter Home
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Men Without Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Immortalists
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ladder Of Years
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Love Letter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Convenience Store Woman
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
The People vs. Alex Cross
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.