Some orders may be delayed by the current Coronavirus lockdown.
Visit our help page for further information.
She Came to Stay (Hardback)
  • She Came to Stay (Hardback)
zoom

She Came to Stay (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 432 Pages / Published: 05/03/2020
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

'An atmospheric page-turner perfectly set in the smoke and glitter of a vanished world . . . gripping' - Erin Kelly, bestselling author of He Said/She Said

In a city of strangers, who can you trust?

London, 1952. Dina Demetriou has travelled from Cyprus for a better life. She's certain that excitement, adventure and opportunity are out there, waiting - if only she knew where to look.

Her passion for clothes and flair for sewing land her a job repairing the glittering costumes at the notorious Pelican Revue. It's here that she befriends the mysterious and beautiful Bebba.

With her bleached-blonde hair and an appetite for mischief, Bebba is like no Greek Dina has ever met before. She guides Dina around the fashionable shops, bars and clubs of Soho, and Dina finally feels life has begun.

But Bebba has a secret. And as thick smog brings the city to a standstill, the truth emerges with devastating results. Dina's new life now hangs by a thread. What will be left when the fog finally clears? And will Dina be willing to risk everything to protect her future?

A story of friendship, family, love and loss set against the grimy and glittering streets of fifties Soho. For fans of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Rhys.

Further praise for SHE CAME TO STAY:

'Compelling and beautifully observed. Kyriacou brilliantly evokes the violence and the grime beneath the sequins and surface glamour of 1950s Soho' - Rachel Rhys, bestselling author of Dangerous Crossing

'I absolutely loved it. A gripping, enthralling story . . . I was completely engrossed' - Laura Marshall, bestselling author of Friend Request

'An absorbing story of friendship, betrayal and resilience' - Sarah Maine, bestselling author of Beyond the Wild River

'A gripping, evocative story . . . well researched and utterly convincing. A real gem of a book' - Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Lost Daughter

'An evocative page-turner full of memorable characters. A wonderful debut' - Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl

Readers are loving SHE CAME TO STAY, too!

'I can highly recommend this book. You will be hooked from start to finish.' 5 STARS

'A cracking storyline packed with secrets, as well as unexpected twists and turns make this, cliche or no, a proper page-turner.' 5 STARS

'A brilliant read.' 5 STARS

'The plot moves quickly and is gripping. I didn't want to put the book down but then was sorry to leave the characters and their London haunts behind when I got to the end.' 5 STARS

'A really enjoyable read.' 5 STARS

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529337679
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 660 g
Dimensions: 162 x 236 x 42 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
She Came To Stay is a gripping story about friendship, family and the meaning of home. An atmospheric page-turner perfectly set in the smoke and glitter of a vanished world. -- Erin Kelly
Set in the dazzling world of 1950s Soho, She Came to Stay is an evocative page-turner full of memorable characters who stayed inside my head long after I had finished reading. Eleni Kyriacou has written a wonderful debut -- Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl
Compelling and beautifully observed. Kyriacou brilliantly evokes the violence and the grime beneath the sequins and surface glamour of 1950s Soho * Rachel Rhys, bestselling author of Dangerous Crossing *
An absorbing story of friendship, betrayal and resilience amongst the immigrant community where the struggle for survival brings out the best - and the worst - in characters who choose conflicting, often dangerous, ways to get ahead in a post war London. * Sarah Maine, bestselling author of Beyond the Wild River *
I absolutely loved it - a gripping, enthralling story with characters I loved (and hated!), and so atmospheric, I was completely engrossed in the world of 1950s Soho -- Laura Marshall, bestselling author of Friend Request
A gripping, evocative story of the dangers facing a young Cypriot girl in 1950s Soho. Even breathing the air is a risk as the great smog descends. The descriptions of the louche world of cafes and strip clubs are well researched and utterly convincing. It's a real gem of a book. * Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Lost Daughter *

You may also be interested in...

The Empty Throne
Added to basket
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The Other Queen
Added to basket
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Whispers in the Sand
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Wolf Hall
Added to basket
£15.99
CD-Audio
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Intriguing and engrossing read”

I really enjoyed this book. Well researched, it was set in a time period (1950’s London), and told from the points of view of recent immigrants, in a way I’d not come across before. It was also an intriguing and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Evocative and gripping historical fiction”

Dina Demetriou arrives in London from Cyprus in the early 1950s. Although she's forced to share a tiny, damp flat with her brother Peter, things look up when she gets a job repairing costumes at a theatre and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.