Shattered Pillars (Paperback)
  • Shattered Pillars (Paperback)
zoom

Shattered Pillars (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 18/02/2015
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Shattered Pillars is the second book of Bear's Eternal Sky trilogy and the sequel to Range of Ghosts. Set in a world drawn from our own great Asian Steppes, this saga of magic, politics, and war sets Re-Temur, the exiled heir to the great Khagan, and his friend Sarmarkar, a Wizard of Tsarepheth, against dark forces determined to conquer all the great empires along the Celedon Road.

Publisher: Starscape
ISBN: 9780765379641
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 363 g
Dimensions: 235 x 156 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it. Though the book is not self-contained, Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended."
--"Kirkus Reviews", starred review on "Range of Ghosts"


"Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended."--"Library Journal" on "Range of Ghosts"
"The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward."--"Booklist "on "Steles of the Sky" "This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended."--"Kirkus Reviews," starred review, on "Range of Ghosts
"
"Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention."--"Publishers Weekly," starred review, on "Steles of the Sky"

Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended. "Library Journal on Range of Ghosts"

The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward. "Booklist on Steles of the Sky"

This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended. "Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on Range of Ghosts"

Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention. "Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Steles of the Sky""


Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended. Library Journal on Range of Ghosts

The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward. Booklist on Steles of the Sky

This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended. Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on Range of Ghosts

Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention. Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Steles of the Sky

"

"Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended." --Library Journal on Range of Ghosts

"The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward." --Booklist on Steles of the Sky

"This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on Range of Ghosts

"Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention." --Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Steles of the Sky


Book Riot's List of 50 Best Epic Fantasy Series, Eternal Sky trilogy

"Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended." --Library Journal on Range of Ghosts

"The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward." --Booklist on Steles of the Sky

"This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on Range of Ghosts

"Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention." --Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Steles of the Sky

You may also be interested in...

Updraft
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
The Last Page
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Librarians and The Lost Lamp
Added to basket
Peace
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Chalk
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Goblin Emperor
Added to basket
Mapping the Interior
Added to basket
Last Song Before Night
Added to basket
Cyador's Heirs
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Hell's Foundations Quiver
Added to basket
Brother's Ruin
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
Star Bridge
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Rex Regis
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Added to basket
The Land Across
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.