Some orders may be delayed by the current Coronavirus lockdown.
Visit our help page for further information.
Sharks in the Time of Saviours (Hardback)
  • Sharks in the Time of Saviours (Hardback)
zoom

Sharks in the Time of Saviours (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 02/04/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
'The novel you never knew you were waiting for' Marlon James 'I didn't want it to end' Sarah Moss In 1995 in Kailua-Kona, Hawai'i, seven-year-old Nainoa Flores is saved from drowning by a shiver of sharks. His family, struggling to make ends meet amidst the collapse of the sugar cane industry, hails his rescue as a sign of favour from ancient Hawaiian gods. But as time passes, this hope gives way to economic realities, forcing Nainoa and his siblings to seek salvation across the continental United States, leaving behind home and family. With a profound command of language, Washburn's powerful debut novel examines what it means to be both of a place, and a stranger in it.

Publisher: Canongate Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781786896483
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 611 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 35 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
The novel you never knew you were waiting for. Old myths clash with new realities, love is in a ride or die with grief, faith rubs hard against magic, and comic flips with tragic so much they meld into something new. All told with daredevil lyricism to burn. A ferocious debut -- MARLON JAMES
Sharks in the Time of Saviours is a brilliant novel and one of the most engaging and memorable books I've read this year. Sentences sparkle, the narrative voices remain distinctive and complete, and the deep notes of magic sound under the realism of poverty and loss. I didn't want it to end -- SARAH MOSS
Sharks in the Time of Saviours bursts with life. It is bright and beautifully noisy. It's so good it hurts and hurts to where it heals. It is revelatory and unputdownable. Washburn is an extraordinarily brilliant new talent. This family saga is shark tooth sharp. Its pages shoot off crackles and sparks, and you come out of it changed. It is sublime -- TOMMY ORANGE, author of THERE, THERE
Washburn's buzzy debut novel explores the shifting bonds of family and the inescapable pull of home * * New York Times, 13 Notable New Titles * *
Sharks in the Time of Saviours is a story of trauma passed down through the generations, of how poverty, grief, and broken dreams weave their way through the lives of one family. Yet it is a story told with joy, even humour, in lyrical, hypnotic prose that will stay with you long after you turn the last page -- TAHMIMA ANAM, author of THE BONES OF GRACE
Brilliant * * Financial Times * *
This daredevil debut will appeal to fans of A Little Life, One Hundred Years of Solitude and Life of Pi -- NetGalley
One of the most richly imagined and evocative debuts in recent memory . . . The writing is dazzling, captivating, all-seeing. The language is lyrical and lush and also muscular and gnarled . . . To say I found the novel to be impressive is an understatement. I was enthralled by the world captured in its pages and, once I turned the final page, found myself wanting more * * Los Angeles Review of Books * *
Imagine The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen imbued with Hawaiian mysticism, and you might get a sense of this searing sibling saga about a boy gifted with supernatural healing abilities - and the family who lives in his shadow * * Oprah Magazine, 30 Most Anticipated Books of 2020 * *
Kawai Strong Washburn has written the great Hawaiian novel. This is the story of a family that becomes the story of the islands. A place that most people don't know outside of glossy postcards and beachside vacations . . . A volcanic powerhouse of a debut -- BENJAMIN PERCY, author of RED MOON

You may also be interested in...

Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Machines Like Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Queenie
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
A Nice Cup of Tea
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Flatshare
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Binding
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Rose Petal Summer
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A Lot of Promise... But Doesn't Deliver 100%”

Hmmm, this one is a curious novel. It begins with a miracle – a young boy, Nainoa Flores, is conceived in Hawaii whilst the spirits and ancient Hawaiian gods are on the march and, seven years later, the same boy is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Hawaii as you've never imagined it”

NetGalley

Member Review

In this story, the spiritual and material worlds are one, and Hawaiian people are indivisable from the land they live in. Mum and Dad have three children, and place all their hopes and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.