• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Grisha: Shadow and Bone: Book 1 - The Grisha (Paperback)
  • The Grisha: Shadow and Bone: Book 1 - The Grisha (Paperback)
zoom

The Grisha: Shadow and Bone: Book 1 - The Grisha (Paperback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99 £5.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 31/07/2014
  • Save £2.00
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas.

Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold-a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed.

Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country's magical military elite - and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.

As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.

Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.

Praise for the Grishaverse:

"Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian
"There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair
"Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent
"This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book Reviews

Read all the books in the Grishaverse!

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy
(previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)
Shadow and Bone
Siege and Storm
Ruin and Rising

The Six of Crows Duology
Six of Crows
Crooked Kingdom

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781780622262
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 258 g
Dimensions: 198 x 132 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Mesmerizing ... shiver-inducing, of the delicious variety. This is what fantasy is for -- Laini Taylor, author of DAUGHTERS OF SMOKE AND BONE * NEW YORK TIMES *
A New York Times bestseller, it's like The Hunger Games meets Potter meets Twilight meets Lord Of The Rings meets Game Of Thrones; basically epic magical fantasy but completely for grown-ups. * STYLIST *
When I closed the covers of this book, late at night, I drifted into a vivid dream bursting with midnight blue keftas and beautiful - but blinding - white light. Leigh Bardugo is a master storyteller, who draws you into her richly-imagined world and refuses to release you... even after you've turned the last page. Shadow and Bone has occupied my thoughts - day and night - ever since I began it * FEED ME BOOKS NOW *
Shadow and Bone is YA fantasy exactly how I like it: deep, epic and full of action and adventure. I fell in love with the story when I was only a few chapters in, and the many twists and turns that followed kept me hooked right until the end. I'm really glad I read this book and I'm even more glad that I have the sequel sat waiting for me. I have no idea where Leigh Bardugo is going with her story, but I can't wait to find out. Read this if you're a fan of fantasy - you won't be disappointed! * WONDROUS READS *
There is so much to love about this book... Leigh Bardugo knows her stuff. The pacing is superb, the climax is faultless, and the immaculate blend of fantasy, action and romance really did make this book 'unputdownable'. * REALM OF FICTION *

You may also be interested in...

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
INK
Added to basket
INK
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Turtles All the Way Down
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Names They Gave Us
Added to basket
Holes
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Mortal Engines
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Disney Once Upon a Dream
Added to basket
It Only Happens in the Movies
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen Reasons Why
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
All the Bright Places
Added to basket
13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Shadow and Bone”

An outstanding start to a fantastic trilogy. Any one who likes fantasy should read this trilogy, it's full of action, mystery, friendship, romance and drama. Alina is a wonderful character who is thrust into a... More

Paperback edition
19th August 2014
Helpful? Upvote 24

“Okay but not great”

Not bad but not perfect is the overriding feeling I had on finishing this book. On the positive side, the author throws the reader and her main character Alina straight into the action; I found myself immersed in the... More

Paperback edition
4th August 2014
Helpful? Upvote 21

“A promising start”

I MAY have just read this in a day. A great series for fans of epic teen fantasy like Sarah J Maas! The Russian-inspired world suits the series well, and it seems there's quite a bit left to explore.

I'm... More

Paperback edition
30th August 2014
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.