Shadow and Bone - Shadow and Bone (Paperback)
  • Shadow and Bone - Shadow and Bone (Paperback)
zoom

Shadow and Bone - Shadow and Bone (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99 £6.49
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 28/06/2018
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

The riveting story of Alina Starkov begins here. An intoxicating mixture of magical adventure and compelling coming-of-age drama, Bardugo’s atmospheric YA fantasy has become a touchstone of the genre.

Enter the Grishaverse with book one of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author, Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas.

Now with a stunning new cover and exclusive bonus material: The Demon in the Wood (a Darkling prequel story) and a Q&A with Leigh Bardugo.

Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold - a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed.

Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country's magical military elite - and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.

As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.

Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781510105249
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 276 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Mesmerizing... shiver-inducing, of the delicious variety. This is what fantasy is for.' - Laini Taylor, author of Daughters of Smoke and Bone

'A New York Times bestseller, it's like The Hunger Games meets Potter meets Twilight meets Lord Of The Rings meets Game Of Thrones; basically epic magical fantasy but completely for grown-ups.' - Stylist

'When I closed the covers of this book, late at night, I drifted into a vivid dream bursting with midnight blue keftas and beautiful - but blinding - white light. Leigh Bardugo is a master storyteller, who draws you into her richly-imagined world and refuses to release you... even after you've turned the last page. Shadow and Bone has occupied my thoughts - day and night - ever since I began it.' - Feed Me Books Now

'Shadow and Bone is YA fantasy exactly how I like it: deep, epic and full of action and adventure. I fell in love with the story when I was only a few chapters in, and the many twists and turns that followed kept me hooked right until the end. I'm really glad I read this book and I'm even more glad that I have the sequel sat waiting for me. I have no idea where Leigh Bardugo is going with her story, but I can't wait to find out. Read this if you're a fan of fantasy - you won't be disappointed!' - Wondrous Reads

'There is so much to love about this book... Leigh Bardugo knows her stuff. The pacing is superb, the climax is faultless, and the immaculate blend of fantasy, action and romance really did make this book 'unputdownable'.' - Realm of Fiction 

You may also be interested in...

You Are A Champion
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Shadow and Bone: Siege and Storm
Added to basket
Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising
Added to basket
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Book 2)
Added to basket
We Were Liars
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume Four
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Yearbook
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Rule of Wolves (King of Scars Book 2)
Added to basket
King of Scars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Felix Ever After
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume Two
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating
Added to basket

“Okay but not great”

Not bad but not perfect is the overriding feeling I had on finishing this book. On the positive side, the author throws the reader and her main character Alina straight into the action; I found myself immersed in the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 78

“Shadow and Bone”

An outstanding start to a fantastic trilogy. Any one who likes fantasy should read this trilogy, it's full of action, mystery, friendship, romance and drama. Alina is a wonderful character who is thrust into a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 67

“A promising start”

I MAY have just read this in a day. A great series for fans of epic teen fantasy like Sarah J Maas! The Russian-inspired world suits the series well, and it seems there's quite a bit left to explore.

I'm... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 55

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.