The Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising: Book 3 - Shadow and Bone (Paperback)
  • The Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising: Book 3 - Shadow and Bone (Paperback)
zoom

The Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising: Book 3 - Shadow and Bone (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 26/06/2018
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Enter the Grishaverse with book three of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Now with a stunning new cover and exclusive bonus material: The Demon in the Wood (a Darkling prequel story) and a Q&A with Leigh Bardugo. Soldier. Summoner. Saint.The nation's fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army. The Darkling rules from his shadow throne while a weakened Alina Starkov recovers from their battle under the dubious protection of the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Now her hopes lie with the magic of a long-vanished ancient creature and the chance that an outlaw prince still survives. As her allies and enemies race toward war, only Alina stands between her country and a rising tide of darkness that could destroy the world. To win this fight, she must seize a legend's power - but claiming the firebird may be her ruin. Read all the books in the Grishaverse! The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy) Shadow and Bone Siege and Storm Ruin and Rising The Six of Crows Duology Six of Crows Crooked Kingdom The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781510105256
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 338 g
Dimensions: 199 x 155 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for the Grisha trilogy: It is one of those series which as a YA reader is a must read. It is series which grabs hold of you by the neck and wrings every emotion out until you are a blabbering, quivering, drooling mess on your sofa. It is high fantasy at its best and I can guarantee that you will not regret picking up this book. * Escapism * Praise for Leigh Bardugo:...a strong and satisfying sequel solidifying my belief that The Grisha Trilogy will go down as one of my favourite series of all time. * Jess Hearts Books * Praise for Leigh Bardugo: Leigh Bardugo, you sure know how to involve your readers and make them an emotional wreck. Siege and Storm is an enthralling sequel that seriously ups the game and expectations of the reader. It is written so beautifully that is flows flawlessly while keeping the magic alive in the readers mind. If you want to read a fantasy series that has a truly unique world then read this series. * Read and Write and Read Some More * Praise for Leigh Bardugo: I wrote a piece here gushing about why the Grisha series is so different and so special. There are many small reasons that all come together to create the awesomeness. But there are also many more that I can't even explain. Maybe it is different because it is just magic. It has the most exquisitely constructed world, the best-written characters, the most amazing writing and storyline. And it always always always leaves me desperate for more. It always leaves me aching, foaming at the mouth, for more: right now. And that, perhaps, is why it is so special. It is magic. It is beautiful. It is perfect. Well, except for that cliffhanger. How am I meant to make it a whole year with that hanging over my head?! * The Book-Addicted Girl * Praise for Leigh Bardugo:Leigh is a writer of the best kind because she loves her characters and the world they live in and makes a reader jealous that they can't visit it. There is magic in these pages. * Sister Spooky * Praise for Leigh Bardugo: I was away on the ships and wandering through Ravka with Alina and Mal, I was on the receiving end of his kisses and his annoyances. I felt the sun warm the pages whenever Alina summoned and I felt the fear when The Darkling was around. There is nothing I don't love about the world in which the Grisha trilogy is set and I cannot wait until next year to see how this series is going to conclude. * Readaraptor * It's difficult to put the beauty of this series into words, as it has to be read in its entirety to be fully appreciated. The careful weaving of magic, fantasy and fairytale comes to a close with a finale that feels like the perfect ending for all involved. There are surprises galore and more than a few emotional, heart-wrenching moments, as the loose ends are tied up with graceful finesse. I cannot praise this series highly enough, so don't be deterred by the YA genre tag - it truly does appeal to all ages. * Book Chick City * A captivating and endlessly exhilarating story that knows no limits. Ruin and Rising is the breathtaking conclusion to the dark fantasy trilogy Shadow and Bone. This story has everything that you never imagined you would want and makes it even better than you could ever fathom. If you have not considered the books or haven't heard of them then I strongly recommend you do because they will fast become your favorite books. * Falling Books * Ruin and Rising left me teary-eyed and contented. I didn't want to leave these characters and yet it just felt SO right. Everything came together and was revealed and resolved and it was just a perfect and beautiful ending and I couldn't have wished for anything more. Leigh certainly delivered. It did the series justice and lived up to its previous two books spectacularly. Thank you so much for sharing Alina's adventure Leigh. I, and many others I'm sure, are extremely grateful. Without a doubt: 5 stars! -- Laura137 * Guardian Teen Books * ... the final episode of the powerful and all-consuming The Grisha sequence -- Julia Eccleshare * Love Reading * ... an excellent end to one of the best trilogies I've read for a while. Hugely enjoyable reading. * The Book Bag * What an amazing ride the Grisha series has been! Brilliant, classic high fantasy on one hand and yet unique and unpredictable on the other. So many twists that I did not in the slightest see coming, and which developed or resolved situations perfectly. Genius storytelling revealing complete mastery of poor defenceless reader emotions as well as fabulous world-building and skillfull character development. Such a satisfying ending too - no mean feat to pull off, but she did it. If you're hesitating to finish this trilogy for fear it could let you down, stop messing about right now and get on with it. * Thoughts From The Hearthfire * In this absolutely STUNNING (I don't know what else to call it) conclusion to the New York Times Bestselling Trilogy, everything you know about this world and the things in it will change. Love, loyalty, friendship, survival, power, victory, and freedom - everything is at stake. And one broken saint, a disgraced tracker, and a whole gang of misfits and a prince without a throne are all that stands between light and dark. If you choose not to read this, you are missing out on one of the BEST series ever. The ending was absolutely stunning, the finale heart-breaking, the story so realistic. I'm actually going to need time to process what I've just read - READ IT! * The Guardian Online *

You may also be interested in...

Treehouse Tales
Added to basket
£10.99   £5.49
Hardback
Onyeka and the Academy of the Sun
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Fart that Changed the World
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Radio Silence
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Gruffalo
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Isadora Moon and the Shooting Star
Added to basket
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Spot a Dinosaur
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Mirabelle and the Naughty Bat Kittens
Added to basket
The Adventures of Dog Man 2: Unleashed
Added to basket
You've Reached Sam
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
She Gets the Girl
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket

“Great Series Closer”

An excellent closer to the GRISHAVERSE trilogy, RUIN AND RISING is a high-stakes and action-packed read that’ll sweep you off your feet, boasting memorable characters, epic fight scenes and intriguing romance. I don’t... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

“Yayy”

So it was a good series, I really enjoyed reading it (2/3, half of the first half of the second and all of the third) even though there where time where my eyebrow did go up in the really? fashion, it was good. The... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27
Micky - bookphenomena

“So much wow for the final instalment”

4.5 stars

Big, big sigh because this is now over. RUIN AND RISING was such a fast-paced and full listen. So much happened and much was unpredictable. The four main characters of Mal, Alina, Nickolai and The Big D... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 23

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.