Sex Gets in the Way (Paperback)
  • Sex Gets in the Way (Paperback)
  • Sex Gets in the Way (Paperback)
  • Sex Gets in the Way (Paperback)
zoom
Sex Gets in the Way (Paperback) Sex Gets in the Way (Paperback)

Sex Gets in the Way (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 200 Pages / Published: 02/07/2006
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Set in England, Australia and the high seas, this work talks about two gay lives, one comfortable and middle class, the other working class and challenging. A doctor discovers the cook of one of his patients, in a shelter on the Bournemouth cliffs. She is pregnant and ill - and dies giving birth to a son. The GP's wife is willing to adopt the boy, but her husband thinks it would be unfair on their son James. The boy, Henry, is sent to an orphanage where, at eleven, he is seduced by the priest in charge. He joins the Merchant Navy and becomes a steward on the Queen Elizabeth. Meanwhile, the more privileged James discovers that he is gay - and that Henry is as well. Throughout Henry's life, he meets James on and off, and longs to be like him. This is the story of two gay lives, one a struggle and the other smooth sailing. It is also British humour at its best, in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Ronald Firbank, which through humour makes a poignant case about the snobbery of the middle classes.

Publisher: Arcadia Books
ISBN: 9781905147021
Number of pages: 200
Weight: 181 g
Dimensions: 216 x 138 x 12 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"'Highly diverting' - Peter Burton, Gay Times"

You may also be interested in...

The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.